User Tag List

SitePoint Enthusiast
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

web design beginner hits snag

Hello,

I am new to this site. I'll try not to make any newbie gaffes.

I'm just learning web design. I am using the Sitepoint book, "Build Your Own Web Site The Right Way Using HTML & CSS, 1st Edition" as a guide, and it has been excellent.

I use a Mac. The sample site I built looks exactly like it's supposed to -- provided I view it through Safari. But when I view it through Foxfire (on my same Mac) most of the styling is gone; the site looks awful, completely unacceptable. I uploaded the files to my web site and viewed it remotely -- I think through Mozilla -- with the same poor results as Foxfire.

I cannot figure out why, and the "Build Your Own Web Site" book does not address this variable.

Anyone have any insights to this?

Thanks,

John Kelin

Is Still Alive silver trophybronze trophy RetroNetro's Avatar
    Mentioned
    1 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Welcome to Sitepoint.

Can you post a link to your site so we can take a look at the code? If it will not let you post links, please enter like so: mysite dot com.

SitePoint Enthusiast
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Hi,

Whoops! I guess that was an obvious oversight.

Here's the link:

[deleted]

[I tried to post the link, but got a message informing me that in an effort to stamp out spam, only members with ten or more posts can include URLs. Fair enough, but I don't yet rate. I'll try to get around it, omitting dots and backslashes:

1. home dot comcast dot net

2. ~johnkelin

3. index dot html ]

The site consists of five pages, all of which look fine through Safari. Through Firefox, the "home" (main/index) is all wrong, as does "Club Events". The others look okay.

All the pages looked bad through Mozilla. I haven't seen it through IE or any other browsers.