SitePoint Sponsor

User Tag List

Results 1 to 13 of 13
  1. #1
    Not a post-script error?!! guysmy's Avatar
    Join Date
    Sep 2001
    Location
    Underneath the Earth w/ Krom (Canada)
    Posts
    787
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

    Extremely cool Flash scrollbars

    Kurt Noble Inc. has got me jealous. They make these groovy scrollbars and pulldown menus in Flash MX.

    www.kurtnoble.com
    www.lennykravitz.com

    Does anyone know how to do work like this in Flash? Any good tutorials??
    Last edited by guysmy; May 5, 2002 at 19:30.

  2. #2
    SitePoint Enthusiast
    Join Date
    May 2002
    Posts
    34
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

    scroll bars

    its hard to tell you how its done over the net but i can give u a basic theory behind a srcoll bar..this is how i do them anyway (not now im on mx tho WAHOO!)

    basically,
    step1)type your text..
    step3)make that into a movie clip
    step4)edit the text movie clip, create a mask layer over the text (youll have to break the text before you mask it otherwise it wont show at all) and then make the broken text a movie clip aswell, so youve got a movie clip in a movie clip.
    step5)give the broken text movie clip an instance name of "text" and the main movie clip an instance name of "text"
    step6)press F8 and make a blank movie clip.
    step7)in that movie clip you want 5 key frames,in the key frames put the following actionscript.

    frame1:stop

    //scrolling up
    frame2: scrollSpeed = scrollSpeed+3
    textpos = getProperty(_root.text.text,_y)
    newtextpos = textpos + scrollSpeed
    setProperty("_root.text.text",_y,newtextpos)

    frame3: scrollSpeed = 0
    goto and play 2

    //scrolling down
    frame4:scrollSpeed = scrollSpeed+3
    textpos = getProperty(_root.text.text,_y)
    newtextpos = textpos - scrollSpeed

    setProperty("_root.text.text",_y,newtextpos)

    frame5: scrollSpeed = 0
    goto and play 4

    step8)drag that movie clip into your main timeline n give it an instance name of "scroller"
    step9)create a couple of buttons for the scrolling movement on the text... for the button that scrolls the text up you will have in the code

    on(Roll-over){
    tellTarget(_root.scroller)
    goto and play 2
    }
    on(Roll-out){
    tellTarget(_root.scroller)
    goto and stop 1
    }

    for the down movement button..

    on(Roll-over){
    tellTarget(_root.scroller)
    goto and play 4
    }
    on(Roll-out){
    tellTarget(_root.scroller)
    goto and stop 1
    }

    there you have it simple as....
    for a scroller with a scroll bar all you have to do is move the text in a negative relation to the position of the draggable scroll bar

    for sites i can recoment http://www.flash-kit.com

  3. #3
    gingham dress, army boots... silver trophy redux's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2002
    Location
    Salford / Manchester / UK
    Posts
    4,838
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    slightly OT, but concerning the Lenny Kravitz site:
    i remember reading an article about the creation of the site, and the lead programmer was saying that the transitions from one screen to another were too elaborate to run flawlessly on lower end machines...so they used a trick: at the beginning of the transition, the flash player is programmatically switched to low quality, and then switched back to high quality at the end of the transition. you can just about notice the switch before everything start moving around...
    re·dux (adj.): brought back; returned. used postpositively
    [latin : re-, re- + dux, leader; see duke.]
    WaSP Accessibility Task Force Member
    splintered.co.uk | photographia.co.uk | redux.deviantart.com

  4. #4
    SitePoint Wizard creole's Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 2000
    Location
    Nashvegas Baby!
    Posts
    7,845
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    For the record, the guys the built the LK site live here in Nashville.

    Guy...wait to get Flash MX, it comes with built in scrollbar objects. You just drag and dop them and presto, they work. Plus you can customize their look.
    Adobe Certified Coldfusion MX 7 Developer
    Adobe Certified Advanced Coldfusion MX Developer
    My Blog (new) | My Family | My Freelance | My Recipes

  5. #5
    ...
    Join Date
    Jan 2002
    Location
    London, UK
    Posts
    759
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Originally posted by creole
    Guy...wait to get Flash MX, it comes with built in scrollbar objects. You just drag and dop them and presto, they work. Plus you can customize their look.
    The only problem with using MX's custom objects like scrollbars and forms is they only run on the Flash 6 player - very few people have it installed yet and the majority of tho's who dont wont wait the 5 min's to update there player (or can't if there on a work machine)

    best to go with the Actionscript suggestion above

  6. #6
    SitePoint Wizard creole's Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 2000
    Location
    Nashvegas Baby!
    Posts
    7,845
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    YOu sure they only run on the F6 player? THe scrollbars are the same thing as you doing it yourself isn't it?
    Adobe Certified Coldfusion MX 7 Developer
    Adobe Certified Advanced Coldfusion MX Developer
    My Blog (new) | My Family | My Freelance | My Recipes

  7. #7
    ...
    Join Date
    Jan 2002
    Location
    London, UK
    Posts
    759
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Yer unfortunatly all the Flash MX Pre-Built User Interface Components are F6 player only.

    You can customise them but not view the Actionscript used within them.

  8. #8
    SitePoint Wizard creole's Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 2000
    Location
    Nashvegas Baby!
    Posts
    7,845
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    got it...
    Adobe Certified Coldfusion MX 7 Developer
    Adobe Certified Advanced Coldfusion MX Developer
    My Blog (new) | My Family | My Freelance | My Recipes

  9. #9
    Dumb PHP codin' cat
    Join Date
    Aug 2000
    Location
    San Diego, CA
    Posts
    5,460
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Most of the components use flash mx actionscript. Stuff that 5 player cannot recognize. But it makes it so much easier.

    You can customise them but not view the Actionscript used within them.
    Not true, you can just open up the component from your library and view the actionscript. Even change it if you want.
    Please don't PM me with questions.
    Use the forums, that is what they are here for.

  10. #10
    ...
    Join Date
    Jan 2002
    Location
    London, UK
    Posts
    759
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Originally posted by freddydoesphp

    Not true, you can just open up the component from your library and view the actionscript. Even change it if you want.
    Looks like i need to have a closer look at MX - still using FLash 5 for work

  11. #11
    Non-Member Forlorn's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2002
    Location
    San Diego, California
    Posts
    1,132
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    The way you make cool scrollbars like that is to get the graphics and make them for one. Then type your text into Flash but type it in as Dynamic Text and make sure its set to "MULTILINE". After that just put in the code for the scrollbar and your done. Not too hard

  12. #12
    Non-Member Forlorn's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2002
    Location
    San Diego, California
    Posts
    1,132
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Flash MX does the scrollbar for you but I can't figure out how to edit the skins

  13. #13
    Dumb PHP codin' cat
    Join Date
    Aug 2000
    Location
    San Diego, CA
    Posts
    5,460
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    The easiest way is to open the symbols up and edit them. After dragging the scrollbar to your stage, open your library.

    Flash UI Components > Component Skins > FScrollbar Skins

    Open any of the symbols, each one is made up of more symbols, so open the first one and see the various symbols that make it up, then edit the individual symbols which live in Core Assets > Other Assets > FScrollbar Assets > Skin Elements



    Or you can use actionscript, but to do this you must find out what style attributes the components.

    Look through the symbols in Flash UI Components > Component Skins > FScrollbar Skins


    component.registerSkinElement(track_mc, "scrollTrack");

    You can now use this in action script from the main timeline to customize colors and whatnot.

    Considering fooScroll is instance name assigned to your scroller.

    fooScroll.setStyleProperty("scrollTrack", 0xFF0000);
    Please don't PM me with questions.
    Use the forums, that is what they are here for.


Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •