SitePoint Sponsor

User Tag List

Results 1 to 6 of 6

Hybrid View

  1. #1
    SitePoint Addict jlisec01's Avatar
    Join Date
    Nov 2006
    Location
    MI
    Posts
    331
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

    3.5 connection to sql server

    hi there i just had a question to ask, if i connect to a sql server 2005, the connection here:

    Code VBNET:
        <add name="Dorknozzle"
            connectionString="Server=localhost\SqlExpress;Database=Dorknozzle;Integrated Security=True"
            providerName="System.Data.SqlClient"/>

    I was using godaddy web hosting, so what would server= be? my web hosting ip? thanks for any help i really appreciate it.

  2. #2
    Chopped Liver bronze trophy imaginekitty's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 2007
    Location
    Pennsyltucky
    Posts
    1,494
    Mentioned
    3 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Try this:
    Code C#:
    Response.Write(Server.MachineName);
    Unless they have a separate server as their database server then that should give you the machine name in question.

  3. #3
    SitePoint Addict jlisec01's Avatar
    Join Date
    Nov 2006
    Location
    MI
    Posts
    331
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    getting the machine would that be something I have to email them on? or can I find that out without asking? ty

  4. #4
    Chopped Liver bronze trophy imaginekitty's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 2007
    Location
    Pennsyltucky
    Posts
    1,494
    Mentioned
    3 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Quote Originally Posted by jlisec01 View Post
    getting the machine would that be something I have to email them on? or can I find that out without asking?
    If you just do what I told you it will give you the machine name of the server your site is on which is most likely the machine your database is on as well.

  5. #5
    SitePoint Mentor NightStalker-DNS's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2004
    Location
    Cape Town, South Africa
    Posts
    2,880
    Mentioned
    48 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    you should just be able to use localhost. If its on the same machine. But just ask them what the machine name is for the sql db

  6. #6
    SitePoint Author silver trophybronze trophy
    wwb_99's Avatar
    Join Date
    May 2003
    Location
    Washington, DC
    Posts
    10,653
    Mentioned
    4 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    ^^^Not likely in most larger scenarios. Godaddy almost certainly has dedicated DB servers. I'd bet you have the information already--do they give you some information about connecting to your SQL server to administer it?


Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •