SitePoint Sponsor

User Tag List

Results 1 to 6 of 6

Hybrid View

  1. #1
    SitePoint Addict dgroves's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2007
    Location
    Bath, UK
    Posts
    364
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

    Windows 7 RC, Skype Won't Detect Microphone

    Hi all,

    Has anybody experienced a similar problem to this? I installed Windows 7 RC yesturday which won't detect my microphone as being plugged in (even though XP will). It appears to be a problem with windows, not skype.

    Any solutions out there?

    Thanks,
    Dan.

  2. #2
    . shoooo... silver trophy logic_earth's Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 2005
    Location
    CA
    Posts
    9,013
    Mentioned
    8 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    What kind of Microphone? Does it require drivers? Does the sound card have all its drivers installed? Right-click on the volume control icon in the taskbar > click Recording Devices. Do you have a device listed in there?
    Logic without the fatal effects.
    All code snippets are licensed under WTFPL.


  3. #3
    SitePoint Addict dgroves's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2007
    Location
    Bath, UK
    Posts
    364
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Quote Originally Posted by logic_earth View Post
    What kind of Microphone? Does it require drivers? Does the sound card have all its drivers installed? Right-click on the volume control icon in the taskbar > click Recording Devices. Do you have a device listed in there?
    It is a Creative Fatal1ty Gaming Headset, no driver required. I have the version that uses standerd 3.5mm jacks.

    I cannot tell if I have the latest drivers for my sound card as the disk that can with it will not run on anything above XP and the "Update Driver" option on the card is greyed out.

    The microphone is not listed where you specified, and works fine on my Vista laptop - so there should be no problems with it.

    Thanks for you help,
    Dan.

  4. #4
    . shoooo... silver trophy logic_earth's Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 2005
    Location
    CA
    Posts
    9,013
    Mentioned
    8 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Quote Originally Posted by dgroves View Post
    The microphone is not listed where you specified, and works fine on my Vista laptop - so there should be no problems with it.
    Well that is the problem right there. Since Windows 7 does not list it, it means it doesn't recognize the hardware. What is the sound card?
    Logic without the fatal effects.
    All code snippets are licensed under WTFPL.


  5. #5
    SitePoint Member
    Join Date
    Jan 2009
    Location
    USA
    Posts
    5
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    It could be the mother board problem. Are you have check this out .

  6. #6
    SitePoint Addict dgroves's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2007
    Location
    Bath, UK
    Posts
    364
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Ok Guys, due to the fact the BF1942 doesn't work on Win7, even in compaterbility mode, I am back to XP anyway now.

    Shame, I really did like Vista, but however old it is BF1942 is my favroute game for multiplayer so I cannot go with out it.

    Thanks for all you help people!


Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •