Hybrid View

SitePoint Member
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

PHP-GTK: Do you use it?

Hey,

So I've recently stumbled onto PHP-GTK, and with my growing interest in developing desktop apps, this looks promising. I've run through a few tutorials and it seems very well put together.

Will PHP-GTK allow me to create robust programs like the C languages or Java can do?

Since I already know PHP, I love the idea of being able to use it for desktop applications. I've bought a few books on Java though, so if this doesn't pan out... I'll hop back into those.

Any thoughts on this PHP extension would be awesome!

SitePoint Member
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    I've been a PHP developer for over 4 years. I've seen PHP-GTK, and used it lightly, but my opinion is PHP does not lend itself as a language to desktop programming.

I've done some work in Java(Swing), C# and D (DWT) and all these languages use event driven paradigm heavily in their APIs. It lends to the idea of user-interface driven application programming very naturally (you do some sort of processing when the user acts with the interface).

Also, from a commercial standpoint, Java jobs have better pay and a much bigger market.

But dont let me stop you from having fun with it!

SitePoint Member
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Thanks for the thoughts!

I'm not worried about pay, as the only desktop apps I'll be building will be for my own products that I sell. What I'm looking for is simply a language that can do whatever I need it to... and if Java or C is it, then I'll use that.

I think I'll play with this a little more, and unless I run into any road blocks... stick with it.

I honestly don't see myself creating too many desktop apps, but I'd like to know how, just in case I do!

Although I think Java is definitely in my 'must-learn' pile. I'd love to be able to write some mobile apps in the future as well.