User Tag List

SitePoint Member
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

putting it all together

hi all,

i am a noob to website design and, in turn, have a bunch of noob questions lol. i bought a template (css / html) and modified it in photoshop to make it unique. i made some decent looking buttons in fireworks those are ready to go. i got some php scripts and those are ready to go. how do i put it all together? do i use dreamweaver or fireworks?

the template is not sizing properly. when i look at it as a preview in dreamweaver it just take up a corner of the screen. is that normal or do i need to get a script that recognizes screen sizes and automatically adjusts? i think i saw an ajax one but im not sure

i want to keep everything clean so i dont have to go back and rearrange the whole site later, but its not easy. i realize that my expertise is so limited that i am probably not even asking the right questions but i need to get a starting point and i figured it cant hurt to ask. thanks for the help.

Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Try and learn some basic css. This will help you do the positioning on your pages and also means that most display mark-up (fonts, sizes, margins etc, etc) are stored in one place, making it far easier to make site-wide changes at a later date.

The w3schools site is an excellent place to start.

monkey
    monkey - the rest is history

SitePoint Member
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    yeah i have been reading and watching tuts for weeks now. seems that every time i think i understand, a new version of skinning the cat crops up. it gets pretty confusing sometimes. damn i hate being a noob at something ;-)

#titanic {float:none} silver trophy
    Mentioned
    234 Post(s)
    Tagged
    1 Thread(s)
    What happens to you happens to all of us. We need to adapt to different screen resolutions and different window sizes and it is not an easy thing to do.