SitePoint Sponsor

User Tag List

Results 1 to 8 of 8

Thread: Looping a layer

  1. #1
    SitePoint Guru coiL's Avatar
    Join Date
    Sep 2001
    Location
    QLD, Australia
    Posts
    666
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

    Looping a layer

    Is there a way to make one part of the movie loop while the rest of the movie plays?

    ie, If I wanted a shape to rotate continuously in the background while other things happened in the foreground.

    I was just wondering beacuse if the whole movie is 200 frames long and the rotation is only 20 frames long, I would have to put in the rotation 10 times.

    coiL
    "cradled in the learning curve"

  2. #2
    Photoshop Ninja jonnya's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2002
    Location
    Birmingham UK
    Posts
    733
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Put your rotating tween into a movie clip...drop onto the stage. Now it will rotate forever!!
    Jonnya Freelance Creative
    UK Freelance designer and web developer
    Website | Portfolio | Photoshop Tips

  3. #3
    Non-Member Forlorn's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2002
    Location
    San Diego, California
    Posts
    1,132
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    MovieClip. Don't drag it on the stage as that will make your file size huge. Call it up from ActionScript

  4. #4
    SitePoint Guru coiL's Avatar
    Join Date
    Sep 2001
    Location
    QLD, Australia
    Posts
    666
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    coiL
    "cradled in the learning curve"

  5. #5
    SitePoint Addict
    Join Date
    Jan 2002
    Posts
    245
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Originally posted by Forlorn
    MovieClip. Don't drag it on the stage as that will make your file size huge. Call it up from ActionScript

    Thats interesting Forlorn.

    Can you expand on that please


    Qamar

  6. #6
    Photoshop Ninja jonnya's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2002
    Location
    Birmingham UK
    Posts
    733
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    I was just trying to work that one out myself....

    I understand that what you are saying is that you could 'animate' the graphic through action script, but in this instance I thought this was the easiest solution, as coiL (no offense) seems to be just finding their feet in Flash...
    Jonnya Freelance Creative
    UK Freelance designer and web developer
    Website | Portfolio | Photoshop Tips

  7. #7
    Pixel Junkie flux's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2001
    Location
    Brussels Belgium
    Posts
    352
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Originally posted by Forlorn
    MovieClip. Don't drag it on the stage as that will make your file size huge. Call it up from ActionScript
    hmmmm.......multimedia...........specialist...

    ...




    ...


    muahahahahahahahahahahaha

  8. #8
    Photoshop Ninja jonnya's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2002
    Location
    Birmingham UK
    Posts
    733
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Humph...indeed, very questionable!
    Jonnya Freelance Creative
    UK Freelance designer and web developer
    Website | Portfolio | Photoshop Tips


Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •