SitePoint Sponsor

User Tag List

SitePoint Member
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

Geting information from a url

I need some help... I am new to PHP, I just started about a week ago, and I can not find out how to get information from a url. What I want to do is this:

I want to make a text box, so when someone types in a name in it, that name will go up into the url box, and get information from that url. Here is an example:

If I type in Emzz18 in the text box, under the text box (not on another page) the information from "http://hiscore.runescape.com/index_lite.ws?player=emzz18" will be there, and if I type in Red Wings013, the information from http://hiscore.runescape.com/index_lite.ws?player=red wings013 will go there.

Would anyone be able to help me? I think I use the POST method, but I don't really know...

Follow Me On Twitter: @djg gold trophysilver trophybronze trophy Dan Grossman's Avatar
    Mentioned
    1 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    You would use the GET method, not POST, to put things in the query string of the URL. You then access them from the array $_GET which PHP automatically creates for you.

Example form:
    PHP Code:
    <form action="process.php" method="GET">
    Enter Player: <input type="text" name="player" value="" />
    <
    br />
    <
    input type="submit" value="Submit" />
    </
    form
    Example process.php:
    PHP Code:
    <?php

echo "The player name you entered was: ";
    echo 
    $_GET['player'];

?>

SitePoint Member
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    The form part looks right, but the php doesn't. So say if I put in "emzz18" in the box, then in the url would be http://hiscore.runescape.com/index_l...?player=emzz18 (click on the url, and you will see a lot of numbers). I want to get all the numbers onto the page with the form.

Follow Me On Twitter: @djg gold trophysilver trophybronze trophy Dan Grossman's Avatar
    Mentioned
    1 Post(s)
    Tagged