SitePoint Sponsor

User Tag List

Results 1 to 23 of 23
  1. #1
    SitePoint Enthusiast
    Join Date
    May 2006
    Posts
    44
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

    Wordpress.org custom field issue

    Hi guys

    Hope this is in the correct place.

    I have my blog setup in such a way that a large image comes before the title post and body text. However, in heist I deleted my old posts which contained the name for the custom field.

    I put the custom field back in but now this image wont appear anymore. All i get is Winter Dark thumbnail with the text underneath

    Anyone got any ideas what is going on?

    Link is http://is.gd/uWcU

    Thanks

  2. #2
    SitePoint Enthusiast keay's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2009
    Location
    Los Angeles, California
    Posts
    49
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Just looking at your code, the images do not have a source path....It is currently empty. So you need to fix the code to reference where your image resides.
    Freelance Web Designer For Hire
    http://www.keaydesign.com

  3. #3
    SitePoint Enthusiast
    Join Date
    May 2006
    Posts
    44
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Hi

    Which piece of code is that, and how do I sort that out?

  4. #4
    SitePoint Enthusiast keay's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2009
    Location
    Los Angeles, California
    Posts
    49
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    That should be corrected in your posts of the admin panel...

    Currently your code reads....<img width="730" alt="Winter Dark thumbnail" src=""/>

    If you look at the src="", that means its empty and should contain the path and file to the image you want to load.
    Freelance Web Designer For Hire
    http://www.keaydesign.com

  5. #5
    SitePoint Enthusiast
    Join Date
    May 2006
    Posts
    44
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Im sorry, not really understanding. Are you staying i have broken links hence the images are not showing?

  6. #6
    SitePoint Enthusiast keay's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2009
    Location
    Los Angeles, California
    Posts
    49
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    I am saying your src path doesn't point to any images at the current moment therefore you are not seeing any image.
    Freelance Web Designer For Hire
    http://www.keaydesign.com

  7. #7
    SitePoint Enthusiast
    Join Date
    May 2006
    Posts
    44
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    got you. well im placing the image source URL in the custom field (this was what was done previously) , but obviously not working. Not exactly sure how to sort this when im doing everything i did previously...

  8. #8
    SitePoint Enthusiast keay's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2009
    Location
    Los Angeles, California
    Posts
    49
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Well without seeing the admin panel its hard for me to judge what the issue is but for a quickfix, you can simply put the img src inside the post....
    Freelance Web Designer For Hire
    http://www.keaydesign.com

  9. #9
    SitePoint Enthusiast
    Join Date
    May 2006
    Posts
    44
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Yea tried that, nothing. That was actually my original question before messing up this custom field thing. Images would not display in the post either...

  10. #10
    SitePoint Enthusiast keay's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2009
    Location
    Los Angeles, California
    Posts
    49
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    And you looked at your custom fields making sure you have a key/value pair? For example you have a custom field named "Image" and a value of a url pointing to the images?

    Where are your images located in your directory hiearachy?
    Freelance Web Designer For Hire
    http://www.keaydesign.com

  11. #11
    SitePoint Enthusiast
    Join Date
    May 2006
    Posts
    44
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    this is what happend when i place a img scr http://www.organic-tote-bags.com/blog/?p=73

    This image is suppose to be on top of th date. Also this image wont show reveal itself on the main home of the blog...

  12. #12
    SitePoint Enthusiast
    Join Date
    May 2006
    Posts
    44
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    I looked at my index.php to find out what the heck the thing was called

    <?php get_header(); ?>
    <div id="rgtcol">

    <div class="content">
    <?php while (have_posts()) : the_post(); ?>
    <div class="post">
    <img src="<?php echo get_post_meta($post->ID, "Thumbnail", true); ?>" alt="<?php the_title(); ?> <?php _e('thumbnail'); ?>" width="730" />
    <div style="margin-bottom:5px;"></div>

    Would seem to be thumbnail - the system accepted that. With the value, i am uploading correctly sized images from wp-content/uploads/2009 - The URL displays the correct image so link not broken...

  13. #13
    SitePoint Enthusiast
    Join Date
    May 2006
    Posts
    44
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    OH MY WORD - Just sorted it. The NAME in in the custom field was spelt with lower cap t instead of capital T (Thumbnails) - Oops...

    Ok, now my next issue is pasting normal images when im trying to write a post. It wont show up on the main blog but does here http://www.organic-tote-bags.com/blog/?p=73

    Any ideas?

  14. #14
    SitePoint Enthusiast keay's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2009
    Location
    Los Angeles, California
    Posts
    49
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    You have to look at the source page AFTER the page has rendered. Thats the only way you'll know if a link has a path or not....After you load the page, right click and view source and you will see the image link has no path/file.....
    Freelance Web Designer For Hire
    http://www.keaydesign.com

  15. #15
    SitePoint Enthusiast keay's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2009
    Location
    Los Angeles, California
    Posts
    49
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    I see it in the main blog and in the single page...
    Freelance Web Designer For Hire
    http://www.keaydesign.com

  16. #16
    SitePoint Enthusiast
    Join Date
    May 2006
    Posts
    44
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

  17. #17
    SitePoint Enthusiast keay's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2009
    Location
    Los Angeles, California
    Posts
    49
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    In your post, if you put this inside an image tag, I am sure it will work..

    src="http://www.organic-tote-bags.com/blog/wp-content/uploads/2009/04/6brtc_biscuit.jpg"
    Freelance Web Designer For Hire
    http://www.keaydesign.com

  18. #18
    SitePoint Enthusiast
    Join Date
    May 2006
    Posts
    44
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Is does individual page http://www.organic-tote-bags.com/blo...nce=d80cfeb2fc

    But here it doe not http://www.organic-tote-bags.com/blog

    Think maybe the custom field is somehow effecting the image on the main page?

  19. #19
    SitePoint Enthusiast keay's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2009
    Location
    Los Angeles, California
    Posts
    49
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    No, the custom field works inside the loop and what I am telling you to do is put it inside the individual post.
    Freelance Web Designer For Hire
    http://www.keaydesign.com

  20. #20
    SitePoint Enthusiast
    Join Date
    May 2006
    Posts
    44
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    yup, tried this previously and tried again in image tag within the actual post. Again works here http://www.organic-tote-bags.com/blog/?p=81 but not on main site...

  21. #21
    SitePoint Enthusiast keay's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2009
    Location
    Los Angeles, California
    Posts
    49
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Try making another custom field like you did with the winter dark image....
    Freelance Web Designer For Hire
    http://www.keaydesign.com

  22. #22
    SitePoint Enthusiast
    Join Date
    May 2006
    Posts
    44
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    It was actually to do with the php code. Had to change the_excerpt with the_content

    Works all good now. Many thanks for your help dude

  23. #23
    SitePoint Enthusiast keay's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2009
    Location
    Los Angeles, California
    Posts
    49
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Hey, you solved the problem...kudos for you!!
    Freelance Web Designer For Hire
    http://www.keaydesign.com


Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •