SitePoint Sponsor

User Tag List

Results 1 to 10 of 10
  1. #1
    SitePoint Member
    Join Date
    Jan 2006
    Posts
    6
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

    How To Set Up Browser Titles?

    Hi.

    I am a rookie when it comes to things like this which is why I came here to ask this question.

    I am trying to set up my browser titles on my website where it'll have my websites name followed by the name of the article (eg. Site Name - Article Title), but for some reason, I am not able to figure out how to do this.

    Can anyone help me out please?

  2. #2
    SitePoint Enthusiast
    Join Date
    Jun 2008
    Posts
    62
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    It is part of the HTML. Check this link http://www.w3schools.com/TAGS/tag_title.asp.

  3. #3
    SitePoint Member
    Join Date
    Jan 2006
    Posts
    6
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Yes, I have that part down. However, the problem comes when a news article is clicked and the title of the page still remains the same as the homepage. I want it formated where when you click on a news article, my website and the article title are displayed.

  4. #4
    SitePoint Addict wibble wobble's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2008
    Posts
    242
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    You need to put the article name in the title tag too then, e.g.:
    <title>My Site - Article Name</title>
    Find freelance jobs from all the major sites in one place:
    on twitter / on the web / twitter rss feed

  5. #5
    SitePoint Author silver trophybronze trophy

    Join Date
    Nov 2004
    Location
    Ankh-Morpork
    Posts
    12,158
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    You're not using a frameset by any chance? That will be a problem, since you're then techically using a single page and just replacing bits of it.
    Birnam wood is come to Dunsinane

  6. #6
    SitePoint Member
    Join Date
    Jan 2006
    Posts
    6
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    How would I go about adding a frameset to it?

  7. #7
    SitePoint Addict wibble wobble's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2008
    Posts
    242
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    You don't want to. Frames are evil.
    Find freelance jobs from all the major sites in one place:
    on twitter / on the web / twitter rss feed

  8. #8
    SitePoint Author silver trophybronze trophy

    Join Date
    Nov 2004
    Location
    Ankh-Morpork
    Posts
    12,158
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    No, I was just asking if you did have a frameset, because that might explain your problem. You do not want framesets!
    Birnam wood is come to Dunsinane

  9. #9
    SitePoint Member
    Join Date
    Apr 2009
    Posts
    15
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Simply go in HEAD section of your code and in that write down <title>Site Name - Article Name</title>

  10. #10
    SitePoint Enthusiast Gerald Winter's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2009
    Posts
    99
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    You need to put a different head section on each article page <title>Site Name - Article Name</title>
    __________________
    Gerald Winter
    Tips from Mr Bigcheck to make your check Bigger
    Save money on all inclusive vacation packages


Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •