SitePoint Sponsor

User Tag List

Results 1 to 8 of 8

Thread: Win XP licences

  1. #1
    SitePoint Addict dgroves's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2007
    Location
    Bath, UK
    Posts
    364
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

    Win XP licences

    Hi,

    Anyone no how I tell a many more times I can use a win XP licence? Not usre how many times I have used it so far.


    Thanks,
    Dan!

  2. #2
    Follow Me On Twitter: @djg gold trophysilver trophybronze trophy Dan Grossman's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 2000
    Location
    Philadephia, PA
    Posts
    20,580
    Mentioned
    1 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Within 30 days of purchasing the license, you can only activate it 3 times. After 30 days, the limit used to be 8 total activations, but some say it was raised to 11.

  3. #3
    SitePoint Addict dgroves's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2007
    Location
    Bath, UK
    Posts
    364
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    OK, thanks...

    Don't think I'll risk not hvaing a licence then, as the disk has done about 5/6 computers now, one more than once.

  4. #4
    SitePoint Addict dgroves's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2007
    Location
    Bath, UK
    Posts
    364
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Is their a way to reset XP to factory settings without losing my licence?

  5. #5
    Programming Since 1978 silver trophybronze trophy felgall's Avatar
    Join Date
    Sep 2005
    Location
    Sydney, NSW, Australia
    Posts
    16,602
    Mentioned
    24 Post(s)
    Tagged
    1 Thread(s)
    You should be ok with it as long as you only have it installed on one computer at a time. You can always call Microsoft and explain the situation to them if at any time it doesn't activate properly.
    Stephen J Chapman

    javascriptexample.net, Book Reviews, follow me on Twitter
    HTML Help, CSS Help, JavaScript Help, PHP/mySQL Help, blog
    <input name="html5" type="text" required pattern="^$">

  6. #6
    SitePoint Addict ChiefLee's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2009
    Location
    Lawrence KS
    Posts
    264
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    You can use a single XP license only for one computer. You can activate it on that computer as many times as you need. You may find it will not activate over the internet but you can just call Microsoft and they will give you an activation key.

    you should not install xp on more than one computer with the same license. If you decommission a computer (build a new one, old one burns up ect ...) you can use that license again but at any given time only one computer should have a single license of XP.
    Add your logo to Pocket Folders.

  7. #7
    Programming Since 1978 silver trophybronze trophy felgall's Avatar
    Join Date
    Sep 2005
    Location
    Sydney, NSW, Australia
    Posts
    16,602
    Mentioned
    24 Post(s)
    Tagged
    1 Thread(s)
    Also since the activation code is based on the mac addresses of around 8 or so component parts of the computer, provided that you only change the parts gradually you can effectively rebuild the entire computer without needing to reactivate.

    There is also a file you can save from the computer in order to do a reinstall on the same computer and then just restore that file to reactivate it rather than having to go through the reactivation process.
    Stephen J Chapman

    javascriptexample.net, Book Reviews, follow me on Twitter
    HTML Help, CSS Help, JavaScript Help, PHP/mySQL Help, blog
    <input name="html5" type="text" required pattern="^$">

  8. #8
    SitePoint Addict dgroves's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2007
    Location
    Bath, UK
    Posts
    364
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Hey guys. Had no choice but to format the other day. Activated fine. Took hours to get back up to SP3!


Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •