SitePoint Sponsor

User Tag List

Results 1 to 8 of 8
  1. #1
    SitePoint Member
    Join Date
    Jan 2008
    Posts
    7
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

    Thumbs down Different Host and Domain

    I have just bought a domain from Namecheap and am trying to transfer it to my web-host Reseller Zoom. Namecheap is asking me to provide two nameservers from my web-host to transfer. Do I give Namecheap the two websites(ns1arbi...) or the numbers(207.210...)?

    ns1-arbi.nswebhostdotcom
    207.210.120.235

    ns2-arbi.nswebhostdotcom
    207.210.120.236

  2. #2
    SitePoint Guru
    Join Date
    Feb 2008
    Posts
    655
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Give them the ones that start with ns1 and ns2. They are the namer servers (hence NS).

  3. #3
    SitePoint Wizard ~ServerPoint~'s Avatar
    Join Date
    Nov 2007
    Posts
    1,813
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    I believe that giving them all information you have will not be mistake.
    ServerPoint.com - a true hosting company since 1998
    Web Hosting, colocation,
    dedicated servers, Virtual Private Server (VPS) hosting

  4. #4
    SitePoint Wizard SiberForum's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2007
    Posts
    1,197
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    I suppose that you have certain field in from of you to fill. If that said add nameserver - go ahead and add name server not IP

  5. #5
    Certified Ethical Hacker silver trophybronze trophy dklynn's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2002
    Location
    Auckland
    Posts
    14,653
    Mentioned
    19 Post(s)
    Tagged
    3 Thread(s)
    Rocky,

    Registrars will ask for one or the other but have both (ns and IP) available (as suggested above).

    Regards,

    DK
    David K. Lynn - Data Koncepts is a long-time WebHostingBuzz (US/UK)
    Client and (unpaid) WHB Ambassador
    mod_rewrite Tutorial Article (setup, config, test & write
    mod_rewrite regex w/sample code) and Code Generator

  6. #6
    SitePoint Addict g1siberia's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2008
    Posts
    236
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    I have always used just the `ns` versions and never had a problem

  7. #7
    SitePoint Enthusiast .Andy's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2009
    Posts
    31
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Who gave you those ips your old host? YOu have to upgrade your DNS to your new hosts specs. aka there ip's and there domain (for example ns1 and ns2.therehost.com)
    Andrew Anderson
    Sales Manager
    http://www.nerdyhost.com
    1.877.397.5251

  8. #8
    SitePoint Addict
    Join Date
    Oct 2008
    Posts
    224
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    You can provide the name server registrar both the information's, that is Ns1 and Ns2 and also the ip addresses, but the Ns1 and NS2 info's would be enough to register your domain names usually.
    ------------
    hzSari | HostingZoom.com
    ModVPS.com | ResellerZoom.com
    Power Speed Reliability


Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •