User Tag List

SitePoint Member
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

Website Security

Hi all,

I am a new programmer. I am good in C,C++. Recently, I have an idea for a website. So, I started learning ASP.net,C#,JavaScript,HTML,CSS.
    I know that these are enough for a website development. But, I am afraid of, whether, I can build a robust website.
    Will it be secure? Will it cause any problems for the users and all this stuff a newbee is worried about. So, any advice about how to go along and work with the website? I always go to youtube,amazon etc and as we all know, they are really good websites and they are secure. I want something like that.Not many graphic gimmicks.

I would also like to know about Web Services. What is the purpose?

With the above mentioned languages and skill sets, will my website standout strong? Or do I have to learn something else? TIA

Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    1st of all the question of will it be secure is answered in the same manner as asking if a C or C++ app will be secure, it all depends on the code you produce and requires testing to ensure their are as few vulnerabilities as possible.

As for the languages you need to learn and use, it depends on the type of site you are designing. I personally prefer to work in a LAMP environment but that's just me.

What would you like to know about web services?

SitePoint Member
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Hi!

Thanks for the reply. I am just starting to learn the web side programming. That is the reason why my question is so lame. I do not want to program in C or C++ right now.

I am just looking to build a website that interacts with other websites. Exigg and reddit just add their buttons on different sites so that users of those other sites can come and do things in their sites. I am also planning something like that. Not much graphics. Just a decent looking site like digg.