SitePoint Sponsor

User Tag List

SitePoint Member
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

what are the most user friendly web tools for a simple website?

i am researching starting my own online business. i am pretty new to web design. took a class in college for it and thats about it. my idea website is going to be something pretty simple.

so my question is what would be the best program for me to use. as i said the pages im looking to design arnt anything or that in depth and i have pretty much no experience.

also would it be a good idea to pay to download web design templates.

much thanks in advance.

Visible Ninja bronze trophy
    Mentioned
    5 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Welcome to SitePoint!

I personally love Aptana Studio for coding websites as it's simple to use and color-codes my html and php code. Oh, and it's free!

Should you use templates? That's a loaded question and I'm sure you're going to get people on both sides of the fence with that one. For me, I like to review templates to get ideas for creative design and then I go and create it myself. I think I avoid using templates because I'd prefer to know exactly how the website was built from the ground up so that I can tweak it as necessary.
    TAKE A WALK OUTSIDE YOUR MIND.

SitePoint Zealot
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Hello,

I would suggest that you download or get a copy of Dreamweaver. This is a very nice and easy WYSIWYG. This will help you get started when it comes to designing/coding.

You can download Adobe CS and get photoshop and dreamweaver both in one package.

Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    for a simple site you want to build yourself go with dreamweaver

SitePoint Member
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)