SitePoint Sponsor

User Tag List

Results 1 to 8 of 8
  1. #1
    SitePoint Enthusiast Wolf597's Avatar
    Join Date
    Sep 2007
    Location
    US
    Posts
    32
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

    Question Domain name question

    Hi, if I have a webhosting account with two domains on it ( say 123.com and 456.com) And Im using a FTP program to upload files that I belong to 123.com, how to you designate that those files go with 123.com and not the other domain name?

    Do you just make a new folder in your hositng account and make sure all the links go to 123.com or any there more steps you have to take?

  2. #2
    SitePoint Zealot
    Join Date
    May 2008
    Posts
    182
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    typically, you will have a folder for each website. For instance you might have a 123.com folder and a 456.com folder. Simply put the files in the correct folder and you should be okay.
    Stair Lifts & Residential Dumbwaiters, source of health news

  3. #3
    SitePoint Enthusiast WindowsHosting's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2009
    Posts
    92
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Hello,

    This will be true in case one domain is not an alias for the other domain name. Basically you should know what each web site directory is and upload the files in it.

    Regards
    Find Free ASP.NET hosting information and resources at http://www.windowshostingasp.net.

  4. #4
    SitePoint Wizard ~ServerPoint~'s Avatar
    Join Date
    Nov 2007
    Posts
    1,813
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    I think that diffrent panels (control panels) as well as diffrent web hosting accounts give you different possibilities in this way. Make sure that given suggestions work for you.
    I have posted that as it was not clear which CP OP using
    ServerPoint.com - a true hosting company since 1998
    Web Hosting, colocation,
    dedicated servers, Virtual Private Server (VPS) hosting

  5. #5
    SitePoint Member
    Join Date
    Apr 2009
    Posts
    9
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Usually there is an "addon" domain facilities to separate for each domain

  6. #6
    SitePoint Wizard SiberForum's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2007
    Posts
    1,197
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    It seems that you need to redirect people form one site to another. In this case I would recommend you use 301 redirect, which can be installed in your htaccess file

  7. #7
    SitePoint Enthusiast Gerald Winter's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2009
    Posts
    99
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    You can create separate ftp accounts for each domain and the server will keep files separate.
    Gerald Winter
    Tips from Mr Bigcheck to make your check Bigger
    Save money on all inclusive vacation packages

  8. #8
    SitePoint Member
    Join Date
    Apr 2009
    Posts
    14
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    In a single hosting package you need to have two packages and two accounts. Account represent the domain name that is being stored here. Then if you use a ftp software you would be choosing the host as the destination domain and do all sort of uploads.
    On the other hand if you use, ftp in iexplore you would be having separate passwords to do so. That simple.


Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •