Hybrid View

Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

Col & Row heights & widths Question.

Hi all,

this is my first post.....

i use dreamweaver, and i have a problem with table cells (who doesn't i hear you say ), i can't seem to adjust the width or height BELOW 15px, i seem to have in mind that its done with the colspan or rowspan tag... is this correct, can someone set me straight on the correct use of these.... or please explain another method i can use to constrain the table cells to a smaller size...

some how in my self-taught education i have managed to miss this vital aspect of HTML/wed design and now its really bugging me...

ohh... if it envolves editing the code directly in "code view" thats cool... i can manage that....

thanks in advance
    Chunks

SitePoint Evangelist
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Can you post the <table> code?

Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    here is something to play around with... just a table with 6 columns and 4 rows. I just coloured in some sells to show you how the collspan and rowspans work.

as far as the height and width go. I don't think the height can go that small, not shure, by the width can definitely go smaller that 15 px.

Code:
    <HTML>
    <HEAD>
    <TITLE></TITLE>
    </HEAD>
    <BODY>
    <table width=100% border=1 height=100%>
    <tr height=20%>
    	<td rowspan=4 width=5px bgcolor=blue> <font color=white size=4>this cell spans over all 4 rows and only the first collumn</td>
    	<td width=10%></td>
    	<td width=10%></td>

<td width=20%></td>
    	<td width=20%></td>
    	<td width=20%></td>

</tr>
    <tr height=20%>
    	<td rowspan=3 colspan=2 bgcolor=red> <font color=white size=4>this cell spans over 2 collumns and 3 rows</font></td>
    	<td></td>
    	<td></td>
    	<td></td>
    </tr>
    <tr height=20%>
    	<td rowspan=2 colspan=2 bgcolor=green> <font color=white size=4>this cell spans over 2 collumns and 2 rows</font></td>