SitePoint Sponsor

User Tag List

View Poll Results: Do you have Adobes' AIR installed ?

Voters
9. You may not vote on this poll
  • Yes

    5 55.56%
  • No

    4 44.44%
  • I do now

    0 0%
Results 1 to 10 of 10
  1. #1
    Floridiot joebert's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2004
    Location
    Kenneth City, FL
    Posts
    823
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

    Do you have Adobe AIR installed ?

    I'm just wondering how many people actually have the runtime for Adobe AIR installed.

    Suggestions for places to find statistics about this are welcome too.

  2. #2
    Pragmatic Programmer halfasleeps's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2006
    Location
    Altoona, PA. USA
    Posts
    1,945
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    I do, but I have started developing AIR apps too.
    Altoona Design
    Freelance Flex developer for hire.
    ActionScript Programmer with 8 Years Experience.

  3. #3
    whagwan? silver trophybronze trophy akritic's Avatar
    Join Date
    Nov 2006
    Posts
    2,780
    Mentioned
    1 Post(s)
    Tagged
    1 Thread(s)
    Yes I have it installed ... who doesn't?

  4. #4
    . shoooo... silver trophy logic_earth's Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 2005
    Location
    CA
    Posts
    9,013
    Mentioned
    8 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Adobe should discontinue AIR runtime and do what Microsoft is doing with Silverlight 3. Instead of requiring another download or application installation, your RIA application should be able to run in the browser and on the desktop all in the same runtime. This is what Silverlight 3 will allow you to do, can read about it here: Silverlight 3: Having an out-of-the-browser experience. Having the same runtime do both just seems smart, what didn't Adobe do this?

    I personally rather not install any more Adobe applications then I must, Adobe AIR is not on my list to be installed.
    Logic without the fatal effects.
    All code snippets are licensed under WTFPL.


  5. #5
    Pragmatic Programmer halfasleeps's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2006
    Location
    Altoona, PA. USA
    Posts
    1,945
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Quote Originally Posted by logic_earth View Post
    Adobe should discontinue AIR runtime and do what Microsoft is doing with Silverlight 3. Instead of requiring another download or application installation, your RIA application should be able to run in the browser and on the desktop all in the same runtime. This is what Silverlight 3 will allow you to do, can read about it here: Silverlight 3: Having an out-of-the-browser experience.

    I personally rather not install any more Adobe applications then I must, Adobe AIR is not on my list to be installed.
    I read the article, interested, some thoughts, will the silverlight apps actually be installed like AIR or stand-a-lone? Also will they have access to the local file system and things of that nature? Thanks for the link.
    Altoona Design
    Freelance Flex developer for hire.
    ActionScript Programmer with 8 Years Experience.

  6. #6
    . shoooo... silver trophy logic_earth's Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 2005
    Location
    CA
    Posts
    9,013
    Mentioned
    8 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Quote Originally Posted by halfasleeps View Post
    I read the article, interested, some thoughts, will the silverlight apps actually be installed like AIR or stand-a-lone? Also will they have access to the local file system and things of that nature? Thanks for the link.
    I've have not played with that functionality yet of Silverlight so no definitive answers from me as of yet. Watching the demo at MIX 09 showed no installation at all, aside from installing Silverlight 3, the RIA was downloaded to the desktop and ran.

    I was looking for the application hopping it was live. Sadly it seems KAXP.org has yet to release it to the public. And come to think of it, the RIA started in the browser then at the click of a button was downloaded and moved into what would seem to be a popup window.
    Logic without the fatal effects.
    All code snippets are licensed under WTFPL.


  7. #7
    Is Still Alive silver trophybronze trophy RetroNetro's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2003
    Location
    Texas
    Posts
    6,883
    Mentioned
    1 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Quote Originally Posted by armchaircritic View Post
    Yes I have it installed ... who doesn't?
    I don't, and I do not have Silverlight installed either.

  8. #8
    whagwan? silver trophybronze trophy akritic's Avatar
    Join Date
    Nov 2006
    Posts
    2,780
    Mentioned
    1 Post(s)
    Tagged
    1 Thread(s)
    I don't have silverlight

    the "who doesn't" was of course a sneaky joke. I know that many many people wouldn't care less for it. I don't think I would either unless I used those AIR twitter apps.

  9. #9
    Is Still Alive silver trophybronze trophy RetroNetro's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2003
    Location
    Texas
    Posts
    6,883
    Mentioned
    1 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    I had AIR installed back when it was first released (or at least when I first became aware of it). Then I reformatted and have had no need to reinstall it. Though I have considered it a few times to check out some AIR apps, but have not done it yet.

  10. #10
    SitePoint Enthusiast
    Join Date
    Mar 2009
    Posts
    98
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    I have it but I don't use it


Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •