SitePoint Sponsor

User Tag List

Results 1 to 7 of 7
  1. #1
    SitePoint Member
    Join Date
    May 2002
    Location
    Germany
    Posts
    5
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

    Question Apache 2.0.36 and Tomcat 4.0 on Win32

    Heyho,

    I got a Problem with Apache and Tomcat.
    I followd the guide and configured my httpd.conf with the following lines:
    Code:
    # Dynamic Shared Object (DSO) Support
    LoadModule webapp_module modules/mod_webapp.so
    AddModule mod_webapp.c
    and
    Code:
    WebAppConnection conn warp localhost:8008
    WebAppDeploy examples conn /examples
    at the end of the file.

    Now my Problem:
    Evertim i start Apache a messagbox says me: "Requested Operation failed"

    First i try to comment out the "AddModule line", cause i didn't find any other AddModule line in my httpd.conf and it's said in the article. -> Same error
    Then i commented out the two lines at the end of the file. -> Same error
    I commented out the last line (LoadModule). -> Same error

    If i run only Tomcat, without running Apache it works at http://localhost:8080
    But i need to run Apache with Tomcat

    Anyone an idea ?
    Need help

    Thx

    Grobi
    A pessimist is an opimist with experience

  2. #2
    SitePoint Zealot
    Join Date
    Feb 2002
    Location
    UK
    Posts
    146
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    check if your apache configuration is OK

    open a command/dos-prompt window

    navigate to your apache install directory, this will usually be something like C:\Program Files\Apache Group\Apache

    then type: apache -t

    this should give you more info if something is wrong with your httpd.conf file and help you pinpoint the problem.
    Last edited by martm; May 19, 2002 at 06:19.

  3. #3
    SitePoint Member
    Join Date
    May 2002
    Location
    Germany
    Posts
    5
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Thx man.

    I did the test with the line
    Code:
    LoadModule webapp_module modules/mod_webapp.so
    It says that it couldn't find the module. So i tried with
    Code:
    AddModule mod_webapp.c
    and it says that AddModule is an invalid command.

    I checked the filename, but it's alright.

    Maybe Apache 2.0.36 doesn't work with Tomcat 4.0
    In the 1.3.x Version of Apache there are the AddModule lines in the httpd.conf
    Not in the 2.0.36 Version. But the possibility to add or load a module have to exist.

    Is there another setup-file or another Section of the httpd.conf to Add Modules ?

    Thx

    Grobi
    A pessimist is an opimist with experience

  4. #4
    SitePoint Zealot
    Join Date
    Feb 2002
    Location
    UK
    Posts
    146
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    AFAIK 'AddModule' is no longer used in apache 2.

    also after looking around the web today it seems there are a lot of issues surrounding getting tomcat and apache 2 to talk to each other.

    one possible solution is here:
    http://www.acg-gmbh.de/mod_jk/

    haven't tried it so i don't know if it works.

    alternatively, and it really would be easier, you could go back to apache 1.3

  5. #5
    SitePoint Member
    Join Date
    May 2002
    Posts
    1
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Essentially, Tomcat does not work with Apache 2. Apache 2 uses a new system for DLOs ("plugins"), which breaks all existing ones. So, until somebody comes up with a new one, you'll need to use 1.x.

    Interestingly, Covalent (http://wwww.covalent.net) have made Apache2 and tomcat play together, but they charge $995 per CPU for it...

    I don't think it will be very long at all before Tomcat releases an apache2 module, and the same with PHP...

    arin
    Hosting from just $2/month! http://www.xeosdd.net

  6. #6
    SitePoint Zealot
    Join Date
    Feb 2002
    Location
    UK
    Posts
    146
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    just as an update i now have apache 2.0.36 and tomcat 4.0.3 working happily (so far so good ) together on my win2k machine by following the instructions in the link i pointed to above.

    ...but if you're worried about reliability i would go for apache 1.3.x, which has a proven track record with tomcat.

    ...and as arin says i am sure there will be an official connector available shortly
    Last edited by martm; May 21, 2002 at 05:50.

  7. #7
    SitePoint Member
    Join Date
    May 2002
    Location
    Germany
    Posts
    5
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

    Talking So far so good

    THX 4 replys

    After a few hours of trying to get Tomcat 4.0 and Apache 2.036 work together, i installed Tomcat 3.3a and Apache 1.3.24
    They're running without a problem now.

    But i still have a problem (a simple one, i hope )

    I added
    Code:
        ScriptAlias /jsp-bin/ "C:/Programme/Apache Group/Apache/jsp-bin/"
    as an alias (maybe unimportant) and
    Code:
    <Directory "C:/Programme/Apache Group/Apache/jsp-bin">
    	Options ExecCGI
    </Directory>
    to my httpd.conf

    Now i get an Internal Server Error because of misconfiguring my Apache.

    Need help again

    THX

    Grobi

    -----------------------------------------------------
    edit:

    I've
    Code:
    added JkMount /jsp-bin/*.jsp ajp13
    at the end of the file after i searched a bit the web after it. Don't know if it's really needed
    Last edited by Grobi; May 22, 2002 at 08:19.
    A pessimist is an opimist with experience


Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •