SitePoint Sponsor

User Tag List

SitePoint Member
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

Getting Started Programming

I have been programming on and off for several years, never really completing any usable programs, just learning how to program and play with the code as a hobby.

I am going to be starting college in the fall and I want to take the computer programming or game programming classes they offer at the university.

For every 1 thing that I learn there are 100 new things that are created. I spend time learning one technology just to find out that as soon as I get good at it, it becomes replaced with something else, and I feel stupid again.

I would like to go into business for myself, and its a realistic goal for me, but how do I keep on top of things? College will teach me some stuff, but after I am done with college what do I do? How do I know when new technologies are coming out, and how do I get access to them to learn them before they are out?

So many times I notices that a new programming technology comes out like XNA, WPF, etc. etc. and by the time it comes out there are so many people that are already good at it, and I have no idea where to even start.

How do I keep up, where do I get the information, and still at the same time keep developing stuff. If I spend too much time learning something I never make anything, and if I spend time making stuff by the time its done with the first beta the technology is outdated.

I don't understand how people take it all in.

SitePoint Member
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Try to stick with major programming languages, there's some with a future and some not.

Im not much of a coder but I try to stay in line with what's used mostly.

These are the most widely used programming languages.

C, JAVA, C++, PHP, Visual basics, perl.

SitePoint Enthusiast
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)