SitePoint Sponsor

User Tag List

Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

Newbie needs advice on eBusiness questions!

Hey all, and thank you in advance for ANY advice you may have! and apologies for the length of this post...

I am very new to web design (I have read sitepoint's "Build your own website the right way...", I've been exploring Dreamweaver, and I have been benchmarking the code of a lot of many successful webstores in my industry...).

I have a ton of questions, but I'll ask only a few here:

Background: My future website will sell products that I pull from my bricks and motar business. I must have a shopping cart that is able to sinc up inventory with my POS (point of sale) equipment (I have not purchased any yet). This POS must also sinc up with Quickbooks accounting software. I have already looked at the Intuit / quickbooks / Homestead POS system and website package they offer, but there seems to be a ton of technical limitations to their seemingly high priced package deal.

Question #1: please recommend your favorite carts that are compatitble with the Quickbooks POS system. Or a cart and non quickbooks POS systems that are compatible with the Quickbooks accounting software...

Question #2: Who would you recommend for Hosting and why? SSL security?

Question #3: Any recommended consultants on setting up a high quality webstore.

Thank you all very very much!!!

Visible Ninja bronze trophy
    Mentioned
    5 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Welcome to SitePoint!

It appears that you have a few options (just did a quick Google search):

I'm not aware of any standalone shopping cart that has built in capabilities to sync with QuickBooks. However, if QuickBooks provides you with an API then you could simply interface the results of your ecommerce store with QuickBooks - although you would have to write the code yourself. Essentially that is what the last 3 links I posted will do for you.
    TAKE A WALK OUTSIDE YOUR MIND.

Mentioned