SitePoint Sponsor

User Tag List

Non-Member
    Mentioned
    2 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

Question Whats so great about Java?

Hello, I have just started learning Java (Im a complete noob with Java) for my degree and I was thinking, what is so great about Java?

Initially I thought Java wasn't all that great, just an over rated language that requires the user to download the apropriate software for it to even work. But all the new browsers have it built in allready (as far as I know) and there are no cross browser compatibility issues... When I thought about that, it was like the first sip of a cold beer after a long days work.

So what I would like to know, is what makes Java so great?

What can you do with it that you cant do with other languages?

How heavily suported is it by browsers now?

and finally, could you in theory make a stand alone Java program that you could sell on a CD, and would work on any computer?

Will be good to hear your thoughts
    ro0bear

Follow Me On Twitter: @djg gold trophysilver trophybronze trophy Dan Grossman's Avatar
    Mentioned
    1 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Ever heard of Limewire? Java program.

Java is one of the most popular languages in commercial and open source use all around the world. Applets for websites are just a tiny fraction of its usage. It's probably second in use for building desktop applications only to C/C++ and .NET.

Aside from being a mature language with a full library ready for enterprise development of just about anything, one of Java's primary benefits is that you write the code once and can run it on any platform. Java code is run in a Java VM, not compiled, and there are VMs for virtually every operating system, including many you've never heard of, and almost every cell phone in the world.