SitePoint Sponsor

User Tag List

Results 1 to 11 of 11
  1. #1
    SitePoint Member
    Join Date
    Mar 2009
    Posts
    2
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

    Redesign our website

    We are trying to redesign our website, we are using CSS for designing, but sometimes it does not work properly on some browsers. The question is how can we make our design consistent in all browsers?

  2. #2
    SitePoint Author silver trophybronze trophy

    Join Date
    Nov 2004
    Location
    Ankh-Morpork
    Posts
    12,158
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    1. Write your markup and your CSS according to W3C recommendations. Validate to make sure.
    2. Assume as little as possible about your visitors (like what browser they'll be using, how large their browser window is, how large their text setting will be, whether they have JavaScript, the Flash plug-in, etc.)
    3. Test in as many browsers as you can.
    4. Add fixes for non-compliant browsers (mainly Internet Explorer) where needed. Preferably in a separate style sheet linked within a conditional comment.
    Birnam wood is come to Dunsinane

  3. #3
    SitePoint Member
    Join Date
    Mar 2009
    Posts
    2
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    hi

    thanks for reply i want also know that is their any software where i can check my website working in all browsers together.

  4. #4
    SitePoint Author silver trophybronze trophy

    Join Date
    Nov 2004
    Location
    Ankh-Morpork
    Posts
    12,158
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    There's no software like that, but there are online services that let you see screen shots from different browsers.

    It's much better do download the browsers for yourself, though. That also lets you test interactive behaviour, such as JavaScript. You can also see how the page behaves when the window is resized or the text is enlarged/zoomed.

    Most popular browsers are available for free.
    Birnam wood is come to Dunsinane

  5. #5
    SitePoint Addict Belfast75's Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 2005
    Location
    London, England
    Posts
    215
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Hi,

    I use Multiple IE to run IE6 and IE7 simultaneously. I have two different profiles set up to run FF2 and FF3 simultaneously. And I have single installations of Safari, Opera and Chrome. So the only major browser that I don't test against at the moment (and will be v soon) is IE8.

    Hope that helps,
    Des

  6. #6
    SitePoint Enthusiast
    Join Date
    Mar 2009
    Posts
    74
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    I use two computers when I want to test IE6 and IE7, other than that I have Firefox, Chrome, Opera and Safari all installed on my main machine.

    There are also services out there that take screen shots for you but those are only useful to a certain point. Your best bet is to test it on multiple computers with different browsers.

  7. #7
    Non-Member
    Join Date
    Mar 2009
    Location
    Ontario
    Posts
    39
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    I do it with dreamweaver, I test the HTML in three browsers IE, Firefox and Opera.

  8. #8
    SitePoint Wizard
    Join Date
    Jul 2003
    Location
    Kent
    Posts
    1,921
    Mentioned
    1 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    I use a doctype. That helps a fair bit
    And set padding and margin to 0 for the body.
    And if you are not trying to be too clever with things, that helps a bit as well.

  9. #9
    Non-Member
    Join Date
    Mar 2009
    Location
    Ontario
    Posts
    39
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Quote Originally Posted by Dr John View Post
    I use a doctype. That helps a fair bit
    And set padding and margin to 0 for the body.
    And if you are not trying to be too clever with things, that helps a bit as well.
    Setting padding and margin to 0? Will that help?

  10. #10
    SitePoint Enthusiast
    Join Date
    Mar 2009
    Posts
    74
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    also try using Eric Meyer's CSS reset. Different browsers have different defaults, this will reset everything to the same default across all browsers.

    just do a search in google for "Eric Meyer CSS Reset"

  11. #11
    SitePoint Enthusiast
    Join Date
    Jan 2009
    Location
    India
    Posts
    38
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Manually using dreamweaver is the best option. We do this for all our clients as well.


Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •