SitePoint Sponsor

User Tag List

SitePoint Enthusiast
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

Question Mobile Design - Unsupported Content Type??

Hi there,

I've run into a hitch in my 1st mobile version of a website - an unsupported content type error message displayed by no-frills cell phones, which means that users of those phones can't enter the site. I've tested everything that I can think of including removing almost all content, trying different doc and MIME types, & taking out CSS and meta information from the header but nothing seems to work. The lack of information on the web doesn't help either, or the fact that I've never done this before.

I use PHP to detect whether the user is using a mobile device, then wrap the page in header and footer includes appropriate for the mobile version. Here's the site:

http://dev.cvtc.org/mobile.php

Does anyone have any suggestions or know what content is unsupported by unsophisticated mobile devices? Any suggestions would be very welcome!

Thanks!
    Heidi J. Weiland
    Web Developer
    Sound Web Solutions, LLC
    www.soundwebsolutions.net

Follow Me On Twitter: @djg gold trophysilver trophybronze trophy Dan Grossman's Avatar
    Mentioned
    1 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Are these WAP browsers? text/html may be the content-type they don't understand, it wouldn't matter what you put in the page. WAP is XML, not HTML.

SitePoint Enthusiast
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Thanks for the link, very informative. I tried changing my header information to the following, but it didn't resolve the problem:

<?xml version="1.0" encoding="UTF-8"?>
    <!DOCTYPE html PUBLIC "-//WAPFORUM//DTD XHTML Mobile 1.0//EN"
    "http://www.wapforum.org/DTD/xhtml-mobile10.dtd">

<html>
    <head>
    <meta http-equiv="Content-Type" content="application/xhtml+xml" />

The issue seems to be with Openwave... Is there some kind of code specific to Openwave that should be included?