Styling First Word as Bold

I am a complete novice to CSS and need some help styling a long paragraph of text. Each paragraph starts with a name.

Example:
Joe: Lorem ipsum dolor sit amet, consectetuer adipiscing elit. Aenean commodo ligula eget dolor. Aenean massa. Cum sociis natoque penatibus et magnis dis parturient montes, nascetur ridiculus mus.

Bill: Donec quam felis, ultricies nec, pellentesque eu, pretium quis, sem. Nulla consequat massa quis enim. Donec pede justo, fringilla vel, aliquet nec, vulputate eget, arcu.

Joe: In enim justo, rhoncus ut, imperdiet a, venenatis vitae, justo. Nullam dictum felis eu pede mollis pretium. Integer tincidunt. Cras dapibus. Vivamus elementum semper nisi.

How do I style “Joe:” and “Bill:” so the names are bold?

ANY help would be greatly appreciated
Thank you, Karen

I’m sure someone will post some kind of solution, but I have to ask… why not put some kind of tag (like <b>) around the names in the source?

A cross-browse way would be to do

<p><span class="special">Joe:</span> Lorem ipsum dolor sit amet, consectetuer adipiscing elit. Aenean commodo ligula eget dolor. Aenean massa. Cum sociis natoque penatibus et magnis dis parturient montes, nascetur ridiculus mus.</p>
p span.special{font-weight:bold;}

And style from there. However there is a first-word pseudo class where you could do

<p>Joe: Lorem ipsum dolor sit amet, consectetuer adipiscing elit. Aenean commodo ligula eget dolor. Aenean massa. Cum sociis natoque penatibus et magnis dis parturient montes, nascetur ridiculus mus.</p>
p:first-word{font-weight:bold;}

And itwill style the first word in the code. I don’t recommend the pseudo class as it is not widely supported as the previous method.

Edit: Yea your right, I did give a solution.

1. <b> is depreciated because CSS can do it so much better. (Awkward sentence lol).

Thank you so much Ryan! It worked great!
Karen