SitePoint Sponsor

User Tag List

SitePoint Member
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

Question Intellectual Property Clause in Contract - sign all rights over?

The last few months i have been working as a PPC freelancer (limited company in UK).

Most of my work has come through a digital agency (small start up) where any PPC work has been passed to me. I have been working with them for several months but now they want me to sign a contract for new clients.

Part of my PPC work is reporting via excel and i have created very powerful, complex and dynamic reports which took months to create. The rest of my work is the usual keyword research, ad creation, etc.

I am planning to offer my reporting as a seperate service to other PPC agencies.

The contract they wish me to sign appears to pass all intellectual property rights over to them - including any past, present or future works!

Is this a standard contract (UK Law)?

7 Intellectual property
    7.1 You hereby assign to the Company all existing and future intellectual property rights (including, without limitation, patents, copyright and related rights) and inventions arising from the Services for the Company. You agree promptly to execute all documents and do all acts as may, in the opinion of the Company, be necessary to give effect to this clause 7.
    7.2 You hereby irrevocably waive all moral rights under the Copyright, Designs and Patents Act 1988 (and all similar rights in other jurisdictions) which you have or will have in any existing or future works.