User Tag List

SitePoint Member
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

Are more or less pages better?

Hello,

I'm a beginner web builder I have a few questions about site structure--here’s a description of the site map that I’m drawing now:

Top level: Index (all pages will have a link in one way or another to the home page)
    Second level: 8 pages
    Third level: 6 pages coming from 1 of the 2nd level pages called ‘Collections’ and 3 more pages coming from another 2nd level page called ‘Help’.

In the case of ‘Collections” it makes sense to me to have this second landing page that has links to our 6 product categories all in one place. I’d like to know if it is better for the help page to act as another landing page with links to about 12 more smallish pages dealing with our services, policies and FAQ’s; or is it better to have all this information on one long, paragraphed Help page where one could either scroll down or click on inter-page links at the top of the page to see the selected information.

Basically I’m wondering if it is better to have more pages in a website or is it better to have as little as possible. Has any one read any studies on whether people prefer to click rather than scroll or vice versa to get the information they want?

I look forward to hearing from any who can help!

Best,
    Marta

SitePoint Addict
    Mentioned
    1 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    For search engines it is better to have lots of pages rather then just a few and to have all of those pages interlinked. Make sure you SEO each one of those pages as after the spider crawls them they can all be on the search results for different keywords. Hope this helps!

Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    as little as possible, always

works even for Search Engines.

one example: http://www.guitar-teaching.co.uk

4 pages (mostly less than 200 words)

#1 in Google

people really appreciate little but focused content.