SitePoint Sponsor

User Tag List

Mentioned
    2 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

Question ASP.NET - is this a non-starter for complete beginners?

Hi All

This could get long, so I apologise in advance. I am in a real mess, and need to sort myself out with the help of you good people.

I am the website manager for the classic VW club I am in. Long story, but I'm a complete beginner, and so we got a pro to set up a website which could hold our membership database securely, and be quickly and easily edited.

Unfortunately, he wrote it in ASP.NET; he thinks it is the bees knees, but I cannot make head or tail of it. I can just about plod along in HTML/CSS with the help of the two sitepoint books I got a while ago.

I want to change the backdrop, but I cannot even work out how to access the correct file, and dare not do it in case I break it, so I just use the WYSIWYG that is built into the website, FCK editor, to change the body content. I can add pages, and pics, but otherwise I'm stuck with it as it is.

Right now, the site is down, and I have no idea how to fix it.

Is it possible to have the same level of security, write a "shopping basket" type function, use NOCHEX banking, etc, without ASP.NET? Is there something less awkward to use for a beginner?

I really would prefer to write a whole new site by myself, with a little good advice of course, so that at least I know what I have done, where and why. I wanted it to look very different all along, and I cannot do a thing with it at the moment. Worse, the members are not 100% happy and that was the whole idea - please the members!

If it gets back on it's feet (say, if the server had gone down at the ISP and it recovers shortly) the site is at www.vwt2oc.com. Please do not answer to criticise the appearance etc at the moment - it is part of the reason why I want to know if there is another way!