SitePoint Sponsor

User Tag List

Results 1 to 7 of 7
  1. #1
    SitePoint Member
    Join Date
    Jan 2000
    Location
    North Bend, Oregon USA
    Posts
    9
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Hi,
    Have been reading Kevin's mySQL and PHP articles and decided to try installing mysql and php on a red hat linux 6.0 server.

    When I tried to configure where to install mysql, I recieved the error that the C++ compiler was not working and it errored out.

    Really new to linux so any help will be appreciated.

    Thanks,

    Dan

  2. #2
    SitePoint Author Kevin Yank's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2000
    Location
    Melbourne, Australia
    Posts
    2,571
    Mentioned
    2 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    You'll need to install the development RPM's for Linux, which include the GCC compiler and various libraries. Let me know if you need help with this!


    ------------------
    -Kevin Yank.
    http://www.SitePoint.com/
    Helping Small Business Grow Online!

  3. #3
    SitePoint Member
    Join Date
    Jan 2000
    Location
    North Bend, Oregon USA
    Posts
    9
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Thanks Kevin, that worked.

    Sorry it took so long to get back with an answer, but this is a spare time project. Now I have a new problem

    When trying to install php 3 (cause my host uses v 3), everything looks like it goes right, (no errors) but it doesn't create the /usr/local/php folder during the make process. When I run make install, I don't get any errors.

    Any ideas?

    Dan

  4. #4
    SitePoint Author Kevin Yank's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2000
    Location
    Melbourne, Australia
    Posts
    2,571
    Mentioned
    2 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Umm... ok.

    First of all, if you host already provides PHP3, why are you installing it yourself?

    As for why the /usr/local/php folder isn't being created... Did you specify the --prefix=/usr/local/php option for the ./configure script before running the make as described in my article?


    ------------------
    -Kevin Yank.
    http://www.SitePoint.com/
    Helping Small Business Grow Online!

  5. #5
    SitePoint Member
    Join Date
    Jan 2000
    Location
    North Bend, Oregon USA
    Posts
    9
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    actualy, the linux box is in a private intranet that i want to use as a development platform, but if i develop a script, i want to be able to upload it to my web host and have it run correct. Why? who knows...same reason I have an NT box running iis4 complete with a DNS server that resolves ip addresses to domain names. Use a .cxm instead of .com, but still a fully qualified domain name.

    Yes, i ran the ./configure just like in your article. Installed it complete from scratch twice with the same results. Has me puzzled. Probably doing something wrong, just haven't figured out what it is yet.

  6. #6
    SitePoint Author Kevin Yank's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2000
    Location
    Melbourne, Australia
    Posts
    2,571
    Mentioned
    2 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Does the Apache module get installed? i.e. if you complete the installation by updating your httpd.conf file and then try to load a .php file, does PHP work (or at least give you an error message)?


    ------------------
    -Kevin Yank.
    http://www.SitePoint.com/
    Helping Small Business Grow Online!

  7. #7
    SitePoint Member
    Join Date
    Jan 2000
    Location
    North Bend, Oregon USA
    Posts
    9
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    gives me a 405 error


Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •