SitePoint Sponsor

User Tag List

Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

Looking for a good backup solution

Hello all,

I'm a self-employed developer/college student. I'm a little worried right now, because my external hard drive just died (the only thing I really lost was my music collection... thank god for Pandora), and I am afraid that my laptop hard drive (which is approaching 3 years old) may be next. I've got everything on here, all my development files are kept on a local repository, all my dbs are running off a local mysql server, I've got school docs, photos from the last six years, lots of stuff that I cannot lose. I am looking for a good backup solution that I can trust (am a bit paranoid about external USB hard drives right now) and that can run be run automatically. I have Ubuntu Linux on my laptop.

My preference would be some sort of online backup-- and the most-mentioned that I've heard about is Amazon s3. However, I can't really find anything that works well with Ubuntu/S3, especially if I want incremental backups (I don't have a big budget). Does anyone else have a better recommendation? This is one of those things that I always have in the back of my head that I should do, and I never get around to it. That seems to be everyone's last words before their drive dies and everything is lost...

SitePoint Member
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    I recently reviewed a new online backup service provider, "Keepit", at my site IT Info Online.

It is a newer company, but they only charge $4.99 a month and have UNLIMITED storage which seems to be about the best deal I can find out there.

Good Luck!

SitePoint Zealot
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Well you can make a DVD of you important data. You can also store you most important data online.

Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)