User Tag List

Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
    SitePoint Member
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

Teaching others how to maintain sites

I'm not a web designer, but I've been using the HTML 3.2 hand-markup skills I learned to make my X-Files fan site many years ago to maintain the sites of a couple of choirs. A few months ago, I got the bug to make them ADA-compliant, else I would still be blissfully unaware of CSS and XHTML.

While I've been reading about modern markup techniques, a couple of singers asked me to make sites for them. I told them I didn't know enough to take their money, but that I'd like the opportunity to practice on their sites before I undertake a gut rehab on the choir's site. I'm waiting for them to send me files and copy.

Their sites will be straightforward, on the XHTML side at least. But I'm concerned about how I'm going to explain to them how to maintain their sites once I'm done. I imagine having to type up a manual, where I explain every rule/tag on each page, what it does, and how to change it. Which would be educational for me, but a chunk of work, and I'm afraid it might overwhelm the singers, who have no previous web site experience.

I've looked around online for resources, and it seems like the community of amateurs with sites on geocities, etc that I sought help from when I started out has gone, along with the low-end WYSIWYG editors, eg, FrontPage, GoLive. New webizens have blogs, but, even tastefully skinned, they look transient to me. I wouldn't recommend one in place of a static site, unless the user was going to make frequent blog-y updates.