SitePoint Sponsor

User Tag List

Results 1 to 10 of 10

Thread: MySQL Problems

Hybrid View

  1. #1
    The Hiding One lynlimz's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2000
    Location
    Singapore
    Posts
    2,103
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Hi,

    When I login to Telnet, I'm unable to access the mysql server. In actual fact, I cna't connect to it at all. It always says unknown command or something.

    i used this:
    mysql -h hostname -u username -p[password]

    but it doens't work.
    anyone have any idea?

    thanks

  2. #2
    SitePoint Evangelist
    Join Date
    May 2000
    Location
    Canada
    Posts
    533
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    what error are you getting, since you might have to type the full path of the mysql binary and not just "mysql"

    ---------------------------
    SitePoint Moderator
    my ONLY host

  3. #3
    The Hiding One lynlimz's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2000
    Location
    Singapore
    Posts
    2,103
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Hi,

    I've managed to contact my host. They said that MySQL wasn't installed Yet. darn

    Thanks for your help!

    Whats the difference btween postgresql and mysql? I've seen on sites which provide free scripts, and say that they've modifed their scripts for use with postgresql etc. how may i modify my script from mysql compatible to postgresql?

    thanks

  4. #4
    SitePoint Member
    Join Date
    Jul 2000
    Posts
    12
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Mysql & Postgres SQL are both SQL Databases,
    Mysql has many features not implemented, like subqueries, referntial integrity, stored procedures, triggers, etc. but is fast and stable. Postgres SQL is the only free DB going into the direction of a full blown DB like Oracle. But its not known for its stability. Its work in Progress.

  5. #5
    The Hiding One lynlimz's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2000
    Location
    Singapore
    Posts
    2,103
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Hmm...alright...
    How about modifying scripts designed for mysql into postgresql support?

    thanks

  6. #6
    SitePoint Wizard silver trophy Karl's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 1999
    Location
    Derbyshire, UK
    Posts
    4,411
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Or if you were a comedian work Postgress )

    The main thing that Postgress has is transactions (Triggers are pretty useful to) which are essential for eCommerce where multiple queries are used to place an order (Well I say essential, they are essential if you want to keep your code tidy).

    MySQL has now just got financial backing of Progress Software to continue development and provide support.

    ------------------
    Karl Austin
    KDA Web Services
    "Everyone has a photographic memory. Some just don't have film."

  7. #7
    The Hiding One lynlimz's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2000
    Location
    Singapore
    Posts
    2,103
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Hmm...Okayz...

    thanks

  8. #8
    SitePoint Member
    Join Date
    Jul 2000
    Posts
    12
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    GOTCHA.

    Mysql has transactions sincce about a month ago ......

  9. #9
    SitePoint Wizard silver trophy Karl's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 1999
    Location
    Derbyshire, UK
    Posts
    4,411
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Oooh, I am going to have to update my copy of MySQL it seems.

    ------------------
    Karl Austin
    KDA Web Services
    "Everyone has a photographic memory. Some just don't have film."

  10. #10
    SitePoint Wizard edshuck's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2000
    Posts
    1,200
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    hi

    back on the original post. obviously not of primary concern without the isp having mysql installed.

    but my isp provides mysql and php with each new account and the log in to mysql is as follows:

    telnet into host

    at the host prompt enter the following: prompt>mysql -u userid -p <enter>
    prompt>password: password<enter>
    prompt>use databasename;<enter>

    in place of databasename use the one your isp gives you.

    i know this does not help now but may help later. when i started doing this, i had to stumble and fumble through this.

    peace and best to all - ed


Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •