SitePoint Sponsor

User Tag List

Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

Exclamation xhtml validation help please newbie here

ok i need to validate 3 pages on my website of 5 pages and i have validated 2 so far ok. i found that i am getting just a error that is stoping me from getting a full validation and that error stays the same on all three pages it states that-
    (No Character Encoding Found! Using utf-8.

None of the standards sources gave any information on the character encoding labeling for this document. The character encoding utf-8, which you have chosen via the Encoding override option, will be used for tentative validation. )
    i have fixed 2 pages by placing this code in them within the head tag-

<meta http-equiv="Content-Type" content="text/html;charset=utf-8" />

but the other 3 pages will not validate with this tage and i am compleatly stuck. This is a project for school that is due in 3 days i need help on this asap please.
    my main site is benbernier. webs . c o m (sorry wouldent let me put it in properly becuase im new but it has the matrix theme on my home page so you know its the right one. and the pages that wont validate fully are my home page which contains some java scrip errors on top of it and my links page as well as my contact page please check this over and help me please im desprate!
    thank you all so much in advance.

Programming Team silver trophybronze trophy
    Mentioned
    194 Post(s)
    Tagged
    2 Thread(s)
    Hi tron86, welcome to the forums,

If you're serving "real" XHTML -- you should make sure the server sends the charset in the content-type header i.e.
    Code:
    Content-Type: application/xhtml+xml; charset=utf-8
    and specify it in the XML declaration. i.e.
    Code HTML4Strict:
    <?xml version='1.0' encoding='utf-8'?>

Do all 5 pages have the same DOCTYPE?

BTW, for real XHTML the meta is
    Code HTML4Strict: