SitePoint Sponsor

User Tag List

SitePoint Member
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

Not sure where to start......

Im new to webdesign and have a wealth of knowledge already written down but want to design a site around it, but I do not want to have it available unless the customer pays and then they will be given access to the contents of the site. What kind of site or template do I start with or does anyone have any info on what I should do to accomplish what I want. I know its an open question but as I said, I am very new and so far I have some of the site up but hate it, plus I dont know what options to use to do what I want.

Please help.

-Rich

The Mind's I ® silver trophy Dark Tranquility's Avatar
    Mentioned
    8 Post(s)
    Tagged
    1 Thread(s)
    Hey Rich,
    Welcome to SPF!
    Do you have a site for yourself?
    If not start with that!
    What are your skills? HTML? CSS? graphic design? JavaScript may be? any server side language you can develop sites with? What about databases?
    You can't make money from you very first site! you need to practice and be sure you can buid a Web site that works and that is standards compliant and that repects the rules and fulfills the needs of future clients.
    You can also start making web sites for your family, friends, sharities (for free) and after building 5 sutes or so you will have a portfolio that you will be able to show to your clients and then you can start trying to make money from your Web design skills!

SitePoint Member
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    wow, that sounds all well and good, but I have none of those skills and am working from the ground up. My plan is to sell my information as a data cd first on ebay or somthing and build my site while doing that. I have barely got anything yet except a main site which sucks and i created a blog for it, just to start a basis for hits later on.