SitePoint Sponsor

User Tag List

Results 1 to 13 of 13
  1. #1
    SitePoint Wizard creole's Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 2000
    Location
    Nashvegas Baby!
    Posts
    7,845
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

    Best place for high-end pre-built systems with good warranties?

    My company just got the nod for a high $$$ job. One of the first things we'll do with that cash is buy creole a new system. I'm looking for a dual-processor system with a fairly large amount of RAM (512mb or above). Athlon is preferred. I'm trying to decide whether or not it would be better to spend a little more and get a prebuilt system with a warranty and tech support or to spend a little less money and build it myself.

    For the record, I'm perfectly capable of building a system myself as the last 4 puters I have had have been creole models. I'm just thinking that now that I'm to the point where I have real projects, I don't know if I can afford the downtime. Having someone come and fix ot for me would be much faster and would not require my time.

    So...hook me up. I know about www.alienware.com, what are some others?
    Last edited by creole; May 10, 2002 at 18:38.
    Adobe Certified Coldfusion MX 7 Developer
    Adobe Certified Advanced Coldfusion MX Developer
    My Blog (new) | My Family | My Freelance | My Recipes

  2. #2
    SitePoint Wizard
    Join Date
    Jul 1999
    Location
    Chicago
    Posts
    2,629
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    What about a Dell workstation? They're not Athlons, but you can get dual procs and a ton of other good features.

    BTW, did you post this just to make us all jealous, or was that just a convenient side effect?

  3. #3
    SitePoint Wizard creole's Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 2000
    Location
    Nashvegas Baby!
    Posts
    7,845
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Just a side effect...lucky me eh?

    I'll check into Del but I would prefer to have a system that uses normal BIOS instead of their own proprietary stuff. When I said pre-built I was referring to companies like Alienware who will use market hardware instead of their own brand name hardware.
    Adobe Certified Coldfusion MX 7 Developer
    Adobe Certified Advanced Coldfusion MX Developer
    My Blog (new) | My Family | My Freelance | My Recipes

  4. #4
    Serial Publisher silver trophy aspen's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 1999
    Location
    East Lansing, MI USA
    Posts
    12,937
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    The best place I've found for warrantied prebuilt systems is americancomputech.com - I figured out how much it'd cost me to build something with parts from pricewatch.com (including shipping) and a prebuilt system was only $30 more and it had a 3 year warranty. I don't know if they carry such high end models as you're after.

    Of course building something yourself shouldn't mean it has more downtime than any other system, and usually people don't really make house calls to fix it either, they have you send it to them, which all in all can take weeks. Unless you buy from a really big company, which you'll pay really big prices for.

    Also, this was awhile ago, I read an article that rated Micron's high end workstations as the best. And apparently they still do:

    http://www.ziffdavis-internet.com/micronpc/

    I guess they do carry them:

    http://www.americancomputech.com/smoreinfo.asp?iid=924
    Last edited by aspen; May 10, 2002 at 18:02.
    Chris Beasley - I publish content and ecommerce sites.
    Featured Article: Free Comprehensive SEO Guide
    My Guide to Building a Successful Website
    My Blog|My Webmaster Forums

  5. #5
    SitePoint Wizard creole's Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 2000
    Location
    Nashvegas Baby!
    Posts
    7,845
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Wow Chris...

    That AmericanCompuTech has Great prices. Looks like I might not even bother shopping anywhere else. I priced out a dual 1.67ghz Athlon processors with Asus mobo, 1gb DDR RAM, 60gig drive, full tower case, cd drive, 64mb vcard, and WinXP Pro for $1839. That's only a little more than a system that I priced myself using Pricewatch.
    Adobe Certified Coldfusion MX 7 Developer
    Adobe Certified Advanced Coldfusion MX Developer
    My Blog (new) | My Family | My Freelance | My Recipes

  6. #6
    + platinum's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2001
    Location
    Adelaide, Australia
    Posts
    6,441
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Sounds like a good deal creole

    What sort of h/d are you getting? get a fast one (15,000rpm would be good ) or go the SCSI route?
    no point in having heaps of other awesome stuff and going cheap on the h/d

    (your just doing this for bragging right arn't you? )

  7. #7
    + platinum's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2001
    Location
    Adelaide, Australia
    Posts
    6,441
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    umm, also, those full tower cases are a real b**** to move anywhere, I have to take mine back from college every holidays, and i can tell you it's not exactly the lightest thing around (escpecially since i have to go down a few flights of stairs) and even then it takes up more than its fair share of room in my car's boot...

    But then again, tower cases do pull in the chicks

  8. #8
    SitePoint Enthusiast Klown's Avatar
    Join Date
    May 2001
    Location
    Michigan
    Posts
    92
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    I was going to suggest Falcon-NW but I think you have found where you are going to get your computer.
    Klown
    Email me | AIM: missingklown | MSN: general_klown@hotmail.com |
    Yahoo: missingklown | ICQ: 147644177
    Klown-Works- Redesign in progress.

  9. #9
    Mlle. Ledoyen silver trophy seanf's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2001
    Location
    UK
    Posts
    7,168
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Are you sure you want to go for dual processor Andy? Some programs will actually run slower this way, so depending on what you run it may cause problems

    Sean
    Harry Potter

    -- You lived inside my world so softly
    -- Protected only by the kindness of your nature

  10. #10
    Making a better wheel silver trophy DR_LaRRY_PEpPeR's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2001
    Location
    Missouri
    Posts
    3,428
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Originally posted by seanf
    Some programs will actually run slower this way
    care to elaborate?

    i've been using dual 800 PIIIs with Win2k for over a year and it's great. smooth as silk all the time , since it's twice as likely that a CPU will be free to run a thread than with a single CPU. i can't see how anything would be slower. the only rare case i've heard about is on the MySQL site, if you're using a pre-Linux 2.4 kernel, adding more CPUs can make MySQL run slower. however, this happens to be a bug in the OS. so again, i can't see anything being slower under normal circumstances.
    - Matt ** Ignore old signature for now... **
    Dr.BB - Highly optimized to be 2-3x faster than the "Big 3."
    "Do not enclose numeric values in quotes -- that is very non-standard and will only work on MySQL." - MattR

  11. #11
    SitePoint Guru sowen's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2001
    Location
    Stockport, UK
    Posts
    729
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    The only problem I had with dual processors was the seti@home client. It attaches itself to a single processor and uses all it resources. But thats about it. Photoshop and corel work like a charm

  12. #12
    Mlle. Ledoyen silver trophy seanf's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2001
    Location
    UK
    Posts
    7,168
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    From what I have read some programs that were not designed for dual processor systems can run slower than if they were running on a single processor system

    I've got something somewhere in a mag, let me see if I can find it

    Sean
    Harry Potter

    -- You lived inside my world so softly
    -- Protected only by the kindness of your nature

  13. #13
    Serial Publisher silver trophy aspen's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 1999
    Location
    East Lansing, MI USA
    Posts
    12,937
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    I think perhaps some programs would run faster on say a 2ghz single processor system than one with 2 1 ghz processors, but you usually don't use more processors to run a single program faster, you use them to run many programs at once.
    Chris Beasley - I publish content and ecommerce sites.
    Featured Article: Free Comprehensive SEO Guide
    My Guide to Building a Successful Website
    My Blog|My Webmaster Forums


Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •