SitePoint Sponsor

User Tag List

SitePoint Addict
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

Only One Database?

I've been using HostMySite for several years, for three very simple websites, quite happily.

But recently I decided I would learn more about writing ASP.NET code to interface with a Microsoft SQL Server so I upgraded one of my sites from their "ASP.NET" hosting package to their "ASP.NET+" package. The difference is that the latter gives me "MS SQL Server 2005 or 2008" with 600MB of storage. My plan is to use this to learn about database concepts, control-binding, ADO, etc. (i.e., just for study, not for commercial use)

When I went to create a database to start playing with, HostMySite told me I could only have ONE database. It could be 600MB with a jillion tables and relationships but I only get to create ONE!

Is this common in the web-hosting world? Why do they care how many databases I have as long as I don't exceed the storage or bandwidth limits? How do other hosting companies do it with MS (not My-) SQL?

Thanks in advance.
    My Art and Photography Website - pnArt.com -
    My Blog - blog.nelsondev.net -

Programming Since 1978 silver trophybronze trophy felgall's Avatar
    Mentioned
    25 Post(s)
    Tagged
    1 Thread(s)
    Why do you need more than one database. More than one database is like more than one universe - if everything imaginable fits in one why should there be more than one.

Just use different prefixes for the tables for each application and set up different users that have access to the different combinations of tables and your one database will handle everything that a billion databases could handle without needing more than one.

The whole point of creating a database back when the concept was first though of is to make it a central repository for ALL data. Having more than one database defeats the purpose for which databases exist.
    Stephen J Chapman