User Tag List

SitePoint Enthusiast
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

web design - progressing

Hi everyone,

I am very new to web design. I have recently purchased "build your own website the right way using HTML and CSS" and have found it fascinating. So much so that I would like to progress further and maybe - in years to come and with much more practice - try to do it professionally.

So here is my question: Having read the fore mentioned book, I am starting to get to grips with the very basics but I am doing it all with Gedit (linuxes version of notebook) and am sure there are lots of great programs out there that help with web design. What would be the best ones to use (that are compatible with linux) and what would be the appropriate next books to purchase to help me carry on with design. If possible, at the moment I am looking for inexpensive programs and books as I recently lost my job so money is a little tight.

Any suggestions and advice would be very welcome.

SitePoint Author silver trophybronze trophy

Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    If you're just starting, and willing to learn to do things the right way, I think you're already using a good tool. I don't use gedit myself, but a quick check indicates that it at least does syntax highlighting (which helps immensely, even for experienced developers), has spell checking and can display line numbers (useful when you get validation errors). It can do autoindent and there appears to be a whole host of plugins that can be helpful. I use gvim, which should be installed on your Linux system. It's more capable, but it's also got a rather steep learning curve if you're not familiar with it.

There is software that lets you create web pages by pointing and clicking, but they generate the code for you and they don't usually do a very good job of it.