SitePoint Sponsor

User Tag List

Results 1 to 10 of 10
  1. #1
    SitePoint Addict
    Join Date
    Mar 2002
    Location
    Miami, Florida - Caracas, Venezuela
    Posts
    379
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

    PHP4 Configuration - Build Your Own Database Driven Website by Kevin Yank

    Hello,

    I have some doubts about configuring PHP on Apache on my W2KP machine.

    On page 11 in the Installation section of the book in line 7 it says that I need to find a file called php.ini-dist in the php folder (in my case C:/php4/).

    I don't have that file i my instalation. The files I see are:

    php.exe
    php.gtk.dll
    php_gtk_libglade.dll
    php_gtk_sqpane.dll
    phpwin.exe
    php4isapi.dll
    php4ts.dll

    Does anyone know what's going on?
    Did I install a wrong php package?

    Thank you,
    Luis

  2. #2
    SitePoint Addict
    Join Date
    Mar 2002
    Location
    Miami, Florida - Caracas, Venezuela
    Posts
    379
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Also on page 8, second paragraph under "Installing MySQL" the book says I need to find a file called my-example.cnf under the mysql installation folder but the only *.cnf files I could find are:

    my-huge.cnf
    my-large.cnf
    my-medium.cnf
    my-small.cnf

    Is any of these the file I need to copy to my C:\ and rename my.cnf?

    Thank you,
    Luis

  3. #3
    Making a better wheel silver trophy DR_LaRRY_PEpPeR's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2001
    Location
    Missouri
    Posts
    3,428
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    first post: sounds like you have a non-standard PHP distro? i'd download the latest Windows binary from here: www.php.net/downloads.php

    second post: all those my.cnf's suck IMO. i would just put this in your C:\my.cnf or WINNT\my.ini:

    Code:
    [mysqld]
    # Uncomment and change the next line if you installed
    # MySQL somewhere other than the default C:/mysql
    #basedir=C:/mysql
    port=3306
    skip-locking
    set-variable = table_cache=512
    set-variable = thread_cache_size=8
    set-variable = wait_timeout=3600
    
    [client]
    port=3306
    # Here you can put your username and password
    # if you want so that you don't have to manually
    # enter them when using mysql, mysqldump, etc.
    # Uncomment the lines if you do!
    #user=<username>
    #password=<password>
    
    [mysql]
    no-auto-rehash
    
    [mysqldump]
    quick
    that should be pretty good.
    - Matt ** Ignore old signature for now... **
    Dr.BB - Highly optimized to be 2-3x faster than the "Big 3."
    "Do not enclose numeric values in quotes -- that is very non-standard and will only work on MySQL." - MattR

  4. #4
    SitePoint Addict
    Join Date
    Mar 2002
    Location
    Miami, Florida - Caracas, Venezuela
    Posts
    379
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Thank you! That fixed it.

    Now, apache works fine for html/htm files but eventhough I followed, checked and re-checked the instructions in the book by Sitepoint "Build Your Own Database Driven Site Using PHP & MYSQL", every time I try to open a test file called "index.php" the browser opens a "Save" dialog.

    That script only contains:

    PHP Code:
    <?php echo(date("l, F ds Y.")); ?>
    Do you know what the problem could be?

    Thank you,
    Luis

  5. #5
    SitePoint Member
    Join Date
    May 2002
    Posts
    3
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    I had the exact same thing happen to me when I tried installing php on my w2k machine a couple of weeks ago, and I'm positive I followed the directions from Kevin Yanks book word for word.

    What I ended up doing was starting over from scratch and just following the installation instructions that came with PHP. Don't ask me what I did differently, because I have no idea, but at least it's working now.

  6. #6
    SitePoint Enthusiast
    Join Date
    Apr 2002
    Posts
    37
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    lgomez

    Consider yourself lucky, I been ask anyone about that but no one try to help or answer my QQ =\

    However now finally I know what to do with "my.cnf" thanks
    "The perfect slave is the one who believes he is free."

  7. #7
    SitePoint Addict
    Join Date
    Mar 2002
    Location
    Miami, Florida - Caracas, Venezuela
    Posts
    379
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Well, you'll find the answer to my PHP-save-dialog in this post:

    http://sitepointforums.com/showthrea...0&goto=newpost

    Thank you all, everithing seems to work fine now.
    Luis

  8. #8
    SitePoint Enthusiast
    Join Date
    Apr 2002
    Posts
    37
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Originally posted by lgomez
    Well, you'll find the answer to my PHP-save-dialog in this post:

    http://sitepointforums.com/showthrea...0&goto=newpost

    Thank you all, everithing seems to work fine now.
    Thanks but one of Devshed member help me on that already but I was talking about my.cnf, before DR_LaRRY_PEpPeR answer about that my.cnf situation, I dont know what to do and no one help me until you finally hit it off good. That s why I said thanks =)
    "The perfect slave is the one who believes he is free."

  9. #9
    SitePoint Enthusiast
    Join Date
    Apr 2002
    Posts
    37
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Originally posted by lgomez
    Thank you! That fixed it.

    Now, apache works fine for html/htm files but eventhough I followed, checked and re-checked the instructions in the book by Sitepoint "Build Your Own Database Driven Site Using PHP & MYSQL", every time I try to open a test file called "index.php" the browser opens a "Save" dialog.

    That script only contains:

    PHP Code:
    <?php echo(date("l, F ds Y.")); ?>
    Do you know what the problem could be?

    Thank you,

    I notice that you didnt use space, I dont know if it does affect or not but it is working for me.

    Here's my php from same chapter that you use.

    PHP Code:
    <?php

      
    echo( date("l, F dS Y.") );
    ?>

    Try it =) as I said I dont know if space does affect it or not. Also make sure use big "S" in that PHP code cuz it will work bit different like add some werid number with day date.
    Last edited by Speed King; May 9, 2002 at 23:28.
    "The perfect slave is the one who believes he is free."

  10. #10
    SitePoint Enthusiast
    Join Date
    Apr 2002
    Posts
    37
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    No, it is not space issue, I copy your and it work well on mine. I did have that save dialog problem too until I somehow fix it up and correct one of mistake then it work as normal but I cant remember how I did that =\
    "The perfect slave is the one who believes he is free."


Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •