SitePoint Sponsor

User Tag List

Results 1 to 7 of 7
  1. #1
    SitePoint Member
    Join Date
    Jan 2009
    Posts
    3
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

    Layout get broken in IE

    Hello
    I want to make a box on the very start of page and the problem is it's ok in firefox but not in internet explorer. I tried in IE 7 as well.

    The box there on starting of page is javascript box rounded corner.
    I dont understand where I can be wrong so I request if anyone can help me in this. I increased the size of this box in css file from auto to required size which I want to be 878px;.

    Thanks
    Attached Images Attached Images

  2. #2
    Design Your Site Team bronze trophy Erik J's Avatar
    Join Date
    May 2007
    Location
    Countryside, Sweden
    Posts
    3,407
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Hi polarworks, welcome to SitePoint.

    It can only be a guess without the code.

    Check the ul background position, is what I think of first.

    Or maybe you could change the width for the page outer box and leave the content box auto, again only a guess.
    Happy ADD/ADHD with Asperger's

  3. #3
    SitePoint Member
    Join Date
    Jan 2009
    Posts
    3
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Hello Erik
    This was actually a problem
    overflow: hidden;
    so while playing around and around i delete this line and its ok now.

    Thanks

  4. #4
    SitePoint Member
    Join Date
    Jan 2009
    Location
    Silent Hill
    Posts
    13
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    just in case you get into it in the future...
    try to duplicate the same lines of suspicious css lines adding a # in front of them
    example: box1, #box1
    or add !important at the end of the attribute

  5. #5
    SitePoint Member
    Join Date
    Jan 2009
    Posts
    3
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    HI Jontom
    Thanks for your advice but could you please tell me why # or ! in those under editing css lines?
    Do you mean for safety?

    Thanks (and I am a newbie learning by myself) and I hope I can learn more from you guys here in Sitepoint forum.

  6. #6
    SitePoint Member
    Join Date
    Jan 2009
    Location
    Silent Hill
    Posts
    13
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    these are some tricks used to work around different browsers.

  7. #7
    SitePoint Addict 2advance's Avatar
    Join Date
    Nov 2008
    Posts
    285
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    There may be some problem with your coding language in which the site is created, that will work in firefox and displays different in IE.


Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •