SitePoint Sponsor

User Tag List

Results 1 to 13 of 13
  1. #1
    SitePoint Enthusiast Sebioni's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2001
    Location
    France
    Posts
    30
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

    Msvcrt.dll = Big Problem !!!

    I have just designed an intranet system with the supossedly winning trio Apache + MySQL + PHP.

    Whilst this is fine and dandy on my machine and I have no problem running any of the files, as soon as I installed it on my cleint's network (just three machines linked together on Windows 98), the system crashes due to complicated php procedures.

    When it is a simple query, everything works fine however as soon as there is a bit more code (the files is still only 13KB big though), I get an error message saying that the php.exe file is going to shut down due to an error on the MSVCRT.DLL file.

    Does anyone know what is going on? I am really crosssed as I have done all this development work and cannot implement it at all!

    Any help would be greatly appreciated.

    Thanks in advance
    Seb

  2. #2
    SitePoint Evangelist Caesar's Avatar
    Join Date
    May 2000
    Location
    On some harddisk
    Posts
    599
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Sebioni,

    I had this problem once before. Try using another copy of msvcrt.dll.

    You could try downloading an old copy of the PHP installers. I think they include the .dll file there.

  3. #3
    SitePoint Enthusiast Sebioni's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2001
    Location
    France
    Posts
    30
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Try using another copy of msvcrt.dll.

    I have just replaced the msvcrt.dll file in the Windows\System directory by the file msvcrt.dll file from the php installation CD ROM with no luck.

    Any other ideas would be welcome. I am stuck!!

    Please help
    Seb

  4. #4
    Wibblesticks Gryff's Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 2001
    Location
    Asgard
    Posts
    442
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    yuck
    download the latest version

  5. #5
    SitePoint Enthusiast Sebioni's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2001
    Location
    France
    Posts
    30
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Would you know the url for that by any chance?
    Seb

  6. #6
    Wibblesticks Gryff's Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 2001
    Location
    Asgard
    Posts
    442
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    if its www.php.net
    if its a mysql problem then www.mysql.com
    if its an apache problem www.apache.org

    I'm not sure which that .dll is from

  7. #7
    Mlle. Ledoyen silver trophy seanf's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2001
    Location
    UK
    Posts
    7,168
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Install PHP as an Apache module and you *should* be ok. For instructions see the install file in the PHP zip

    Sean
    Harry Potter

    -- You lived inside my world so softly
    -- Protected only by the kindness of your nature

  8. #8
    SitePoint Enthusiast Sebioni's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2001
    Location
    France
    Posts
    30
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Would this work on Windows 98?
    Seb

  9. #9
    Mlle. Ledoyen silver trophy seanf's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2001
    Location
    UK
    Posts
    7,168
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Yep

    Sean
    Harry Potter

    -- You lived inside my world so softly
    -- Protected only by the kindness of your nature

  10. #10
    SitePoint Enthusiast Sebioni's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2001
    Location
    France
    Posts
    30
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Thanks Sean.

    Just as a matter of interest, what version of php are you using? I am using php 4.0.0 and I am starting to wonder if it is not too old.

    What do you reckon?
    Seb

  11. #11
    SitePoint Wizard silver trophy redemption's Avatar
    Join Date
    Sep 2001
    Location
    Singapore
    Posts
    5,269
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    can i butt in here?

    yup go install it as an Apache module... i've my Win 98 PC setup with PHP running as an Apache module and it works fine (occasionally it wouldn't start but then that very seldom happens... dunno what's up with that though... it just suddenly stops and then sometimes it starts working again... may have to do with my PC always hanging )...

    and 4.0.0 is a little dated, seeing as most hosts would have at least 4.0.6 installed and most would have gone beyond that... i don't see why you shouldn't get PHP 4.2.0... and remember to write your scripts with register_globals=off (that's good coding practice, not so that it'd work with 4.2.0 if that's what you thought i was trying to imply )

  12. #12
    SitePoint Enthusiast Sebioni's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2001
    Location
    France
    Posts
    30
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Thanks for your suggestion Redemption,

    remember to write your scripts with register_globals=off
    Where do you put that bit of code? In the php file?

    This seems important, so please tell me more...

    Cheers
    Seb

  13. #13
    SitePoint Wizard silver trophy redemption's Avatar
    Join Date
    Sep 2001
    Location
    Singapore
    Posts
    5,269
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    i suggest you take a look at this thread... take your time reading it... it's worth it though

    and i think you've the misconception that register_globals is a piece of code... it's not; it's a configuration setting for PHP in the php.ini file... take your time to read through the thread and come back here if you've any questions you hear?


Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •