SitePoint Sponsor

User Tag List

Results 1 to 14 of 14
  1. #1
    SitePoint Enthusiast sriraj46's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2009
    Posts
    30
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

    Googlebot crawl timings

    Just read this completely before you answer...
    Today morning I posted a post in my blog and immediately after that I logged into google webmaster tools and found that googlebot crawled my site just 30 mins ago.
    Generally googlebot crawls my site once for every 40 hrs or soo.
    So if had known the exact time of bot crawl I would have posted that an hour ago so that it would be indexed very quickly( ofcourse no guarantee that it'll be indexed)
    That post was a very competitive post (an announcement made by the govt) and a delay of 2 days before crawling makes a lot of difference..
    So my question is,is there any way to find out the bot crawl time exactly or atleast nearly?

  2. #2
    JustAFanOfSlash mdamin76's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2008
    Location
    Stage
    Posts
    434
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    I guess nobody can answer to this question except for google itself. We only can expect a faster crawling rate from googlebot when it comes to blog.

  3. #3
    SitePoint Enthusiast
    Join Date
    Nov 2008
    Posts
    32
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Quote Originally Posted by mdamin76 View Post
    I guess nobody can answer to this question except for google itself. We only can expect a faster crawling rate from googlebot when it comes to blog.
    I couldn't agree more with this..

  4. #4
    SitePoint Addict BransonPro's Avatar
    Join Date
    Nov 2008
    Location
    Branson, Missouri
    Posts
    286
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Every time I make a new blog entry and ping my blog, Google has it indexed within 10 minutes, sometimes less. But this only works for the blog.
    Do you use any pinging service?

  5. #5
    SitePoint Enthusiast sriraj46's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2009
    Posts
    30
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Even I use a bunch of pinging services through my wordpress blog..But that is only a ping and there is no guarantee that the pinged URL will be crawled instantly..

  6. #6
    SitePoint Addict BransonPro's Avatar
    Join Date
    Nov 2008
    Location
    Branson, Missouri
    Posts
    286
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Quote Originally Posted by sriraj46 View Post
    Even I use a bunch of pinging services through my wordpress blog..But that is only a ping and there is no guarantee that the pinged URL will be crawled instantly..
    Every post I make has been crawled right away. I use "blog ping" and Technocrati.

  7. #7
    SitePoint Addict Sensaay's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2005
    Location
    Scotland
    Posts
    294
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    my blog posts are indexed within minutes just using wordpress

  8. #8
    SitePoint Enthusiast sriraj46's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2009
    Posts
    30
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Quote Originally Posted by Sensaay View Post
    my blog posts are indexed within minutes just using wordpress
    Do you do anything for that? or simply they get indexed within minutes..and do you use any plugin? or simply a list of RPC ping services

  9. #9
    SitePoint Enthusiast sriraj46's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2009
    Posts
    30
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Quote Originally Posted by BransonPro View Post
    Every post I make has been crawled right away. I use "blog ping" and Technocrati.
    Technocrati?
    Crawling is ok but is it getting indexed..Many crawlers crawl instantly after a ping..Technorati will be the first followed by the wordpress2.6.3 bot..but what about Google?

  10. #10
    SitePoint Addict BransonPro's Avatar
    Join Date
    Nov 2008
    Location
    Branson, Missouri
    Posts
    286
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Quote Originally Posted by sriraj46 View Post
    Technocrati?
    Crawling is ok but is it getting indexed..Many crawlers crawl instantly after a ping..Technorati will be the first followed by the wordpress2.6.3 bot..but what about Google?
    That's why I say to use "blog ping" as well, it does Yahoo and Google. The URL is bpinger.com and it is a free service.

  11. #11
    SitePoint Enthusiast sriraj46's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2009
    Posts
    30
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Yahoo is also mentioned there but I'm not sure that yahoo can be pinged?
    At least that's what i've learnt by seeing google xml sitemap generator options page.It says Yahoo couldn't be pinged and for that to happen you need an API which you will get once you develop any application and share with yahoo....
    Any way let me try once..
    And do we manually have to visit bpinger everytime we publish a post and ping or is there any other way around?

  12. #12
    SitePoint Addict BransonPro's Avatar
    Join Date
    Nov 2008
    Location
    Branson, Missouri
    Posts
    286
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Quote Originally Posted by sriraj46 View Post
    Yahoo is also mentioned there but I'm not sure that yahoo can be pinged?
    At least that's what i've learnt by seeing google xml sitemap generator options page.It says Yahoo couldn't be pinged and for that to happen you need an API which you will get once you develop any application and share with yahoo....
    Any way let me try once..
    And do we manually have to visit bpinger everytime we publish a post and ping or is there any other way around?
    Not sure about Yahoo...As far as I know, you do have to visit bpinger every time. But, it's worth it to me. I just placed the link in my bookmarks.

  13. #13
    Non-Member
    Join Date
    Jan 2009
    Posts
    22
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    im not sure yahoo can be pinged

  14. #14
    SitePoint Addict BransonPro's Avatar
    Join Date
    Nov 2008
    Location
    Branson, Missouri
    Posts
    286
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Quote Originally Posted by Cpauling View Post
    im not sure yahoo can be pinged
    Yes, I'm not so sure either, but they do display it as an option. Maybe it's just a marketing ploy implemented to give the impression that they offer more features.
    But still, it's a good ping service and I use it.


Tags for this Thread

Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •