User Tag List

Hybrid View

SitePoint Enthusiast
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

Should I start using CSS Tables

I have been working with CSS for a couple of months, fairly confident that I can now start to change my sites from html tables format to CSS.

I have been reading about the new CSS capability of IE8 and am wondering whether its right to start using the CSS table properties which I have not been using simply because of the lack of support in IE.

But is it right to start using it now?

Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Quote Originally Posted by Lee7997 View Post
    But is it right to start using it now?
    Ask Rachel and Kevin ;-)

Seriously, this is a question that very much depends on your user base (if you know that). You'll still need to do something for IE7 and earlier, it's just a question of how much divergance you want for those users.

I'd be willing to give it a go on a smaller project that is not of commercial importance, just to try it out, but I'd be wary if it is something that earns you a crust.
    Build Your Own Web Site the Right Way!
    A beginners' HTML/CSS book with web standards at its heart
    The Ultimate HTML Reference
    A complete reference, in glorious hardback

SitePoint Enthusiast
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    It was Rachel and Kevin that put the thought in my head, but I suspect the it may be a bit on the risky side at this stage given it does earn me quite a bit.

Maybe just stick to my first idea

Thanks

In memoriam gold trophysilver trophybronze trophy Dan Schulz's Avatar
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)