SitePoint Sponsor

User Tag List

Results 1 to 13 of 13
  1. #1
    SitePoint Member martin2001's Avatar
    Join Date
    Sep 2006
    Posts
    3
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

    Question upload zip file to subdomain? Newbie here!

    OK, I have the website template on my desktop in a .zip file.

    I went to my server side and made a subdomain of: beautystore dot thenetworkneversleeps dot com

    How in the world do I get that beautystore zip file with all the data to show up to the public on my server cpanel at www dot beautystore dot thenetworkneversleeps dot com?

    I hope that made sense so far?

    HERE IS THE RUB: I had someone (exwife) upload the zip file of (auto) for www dot auto dot thenetworkneversleeps dot com but she will not give me instructions on how she did it. It was just figure it out yourself...and I can't, so I am asking for someone that have may have the exact instructions please copy and paste them for me or I can pay a little something for your knowledge.

    Thank You, Thank You, Thank You!
    Newbie Jim Knowledge Needed IN NC
    Not as Lean, Not as Mean but still a Marine

  2. #2
    SitePoint Wizard bronze trophy Centauri's Avatar
    Join Date
    May 2007
    Location
    Newcastle, Australia
    Posts
    3,718
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    To upload to the server you would normally use an ftp program. Why do you want to upload the zip file?

  3. #3
    SitePoint Member martin2001's Avatar
    Join Date
    Sep 2006
    Posts
    3
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    ftp eh? How do I do that from a zip file then? Thanks!

  4. #4
    SitePoint Wizard bronze trophy Centauri's Avatar
    Join Date
    May 2007
    Location
    Newcastle, Australia
    Posts
    3,718
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    You don't do it from within a zip file.

    If you are trying to upload a site that you have been given as a zip file, then first you have to unzip it to your computer. Then using an ftp program (such as FileZilla) you log into the server with your username and password, locate the "public html" folder on the server, select the unzipped files and folders on your computer and upload.

  5. #5
    SitePoint Member martin2001's Avatar
    Join Date
    Sep 2006
    Posts
    3
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    The images didn't follow? Is that a seperate thing? THANK YOU FOR YOUR HELP SO FAR!

    its at www dot booksstorextreme dot thenetworkneversleeps dot com

    Jim

  6. #6
    SitePoint Member martin2001's Avatar
    Join Date
    Sep 2006
    Posts
    3
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Your site is so awesome!

  7. #7
    Non-Member
    Join Date
    Oct 2008
    Location
    Banned
    Posts
    506
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Your site is so awesome!
    Filezilla is not his website. It is a public ftp transfer program which allows you to upload files from your desktop to a server. If your domain has a cpanel then there is no need for an ftp client unless there are alot of files to transfer
    Example is uploading a forum software to your site.

  8. #8
    SitePoint Member martin2001's Avatar
    Join Date
    Sep 2006
    Posts
    3
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    I was talking about: Centauri Web Design that I saw. But still, I can't figure out how to get those all those image (43? I think?) to upload correctly so that it shows up on the web right? Thanks! Jim

  9. #9
    Non-Member
    Join Date
    Oct 2008
    Location
    Banned
    Posts
    506
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    What error are you getting. make sure you are not doing http:// when you enter in yoour website.

  10. #10
    SitePoint Member martin2001's Avatar
    Join Date
    Sep 2006
    Posts
    3
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Everything extracted from the zip file except the folder "images"

  11. #11
    SitePoint Member martin2001's Avatar
    Join Date
    Sep 2006
    Posts
    3
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    It worked fine at www dot auto dot thenetworkneversleeps dot com for all images
    but not here at:
    www dot booksstorextreme dot thenetworkneversleeps dot com

  12. #12
    SitePoint Wizard bronze trophy Centauri's Avatar
    Join Date
    May 2007
    Location
    Newcastle, Australia
    Posts
    3,718
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    When you extracted the zip file to your computer, did the "images" folder and images extract as well (to your computer)? If so, then highlighting that folder as well as the other files should have transferred it.

    BTW, the booksstorextreme subdomain gives me a server not found error ....

  13. #13
    Non-Member
    Join Date
    Oct 2008
    Location
    Banned
    Posts
    506
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    I have the same error. Try checking with your domain hoster.


Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •