SitePoint Sponsor

User Tag List

Results 1 to 8 of 8

Thread: expected {

  1. #1
    SitePoint Guru
    Join Date
    Dec 2008
    Posts
    692
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

    expected {

    <style type="text/css">

    #maindiv
    { float: left; background-color:Black; width: 480px; height:450px;
    }


    .img
    {
    border-top-style: none;
    border-right-style: none;
    border-left-style: none;
    border-bottom-style: none;
    }


    while deleting few thing s i got this error now expected { in line 408 and in that line is the above code lines but its blank it line 408 comes before .img . i tried debugging for it. culd anyone tel me how do i find where the error is

  2. #2
    SitePoint Guru
    Join Date
    Nov 2005
    Location
    Norway
    Posts
    715
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Is this a JavaScript error? Or did you get it when validating your CSS code? Either way we need more code .

  3. #3
    SitePoint Zealot
    Join Date
    Jul 2008
    Posts
    188
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    I've had a look and can't see anything wrong with what you've got. Try posting you're entire CSS code here as there may be a problem elsewhere.

    Also, you may have more luck posting in the CSS forum.

  4. #4
    SitePoint Guru
    Join Date
    Dec 2008
    Posts
    692
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    <style type="text/css">

    #maindiv
    { float: left; background-color:Black; width: 480px; height:450px;
    }

    .img
    {
    border-top-style: none;
    border-right-style: none;
    border-left-style: none;
    border-bottom-style: none;
    }

    #done, #d1, #d2, #d3, #d4, #d5
    { height:25px;
    }

    #sub1
    { position: absolute; width: 600px; left: 220px;
    height: 300px; top: 140px; display: none;
    color: black; background-color: AppWorkspace;
    }

    .selected
    { background-color: AppWorkspace;
    }
    .notSelected
    { background-color: black;

    }

    .pad
    {
    padding-left:5px;
    text-decoration:none;
    font-size:small;
    font-family:Calibar;
    }


    .tddetails
    {
    width:95px;
    background-color:#666666;

    }

    .drpdownctrl

    {
    ForeColor:AppWorkspace;
    BackColor:White;
    BorderColor:White;
    BorderStyle:Solid;
    BorderWidth:3px;
    Width:232px;

    }

    .tblborder
    {
    border-left-color: gray;
    border-bottom-color: gray;
    border-top-style: solid;
    border-top-color: gray;
    border-right-style: solid;
    border-left-style: solid;
    border-right-color: gray;
    border-bottom-style: solid;
    }

    </style>

  5. #5
    SitePoint Zealot
    Join Date
    Jul 2008
    Posts
    188
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    I still can't see anything wrong with the CSS. The only thing I would suggest is the amend the section:

    Code:
    .drpdownctrl
    {
    ForeColor:AppWorkspace;
    BackColor:White;
    BorderColor:White;
    BorderStyle:Solid;
    BorderWidth:3px;
    Width:232px;
    }

    to

    Code:
    .drpdownctrl
    {
    color:AppWorkspace;
    background-color:White;
    border: 3px solid White;
    width:232px;
    }
    as the previous version uses depricated code that doesn't validate. This however would not cause the problem you're experiencing. The error must be coming from some other part of your code. Post the entire code here.

  6. #6
    SitePoint Guru
    Join Date
    Nov 2005
    Location
    Norway
    Posts
    715
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Code:
    ForeColor:AppWorkspace;
    BackColor:White;
    BorderColor:White;
    BorderStyle:Solid;
    BorderWidth:3px;
    Is not valid CSS code but properties from an ASP.NET control. Other than that it looks valid (though I would use shorthands like border instead).

  7. #7
    Programming Since 1978 silver trophybronze trophy felgall's Avatar
    Join Date
    Sep 2005
    Location
    Sydney, NSW, Australia
    Posts
    16,875
    Mentioned
    25 Post(s)
    Tagged
    1 Thread(s)
    If it is a JavaScript error then you are looking in the wrong place as JavaScript errors can only occur in JavaScript code.
    Stephen J Chapman

    javascriptexample.net, Book Reviews, follow me on Twitter
    HTML Help, CSS Help, JavaScript Help, PHP/mySQL Help, blog
    <input name="html5" type="text" required pattern="^$">

  8. #8
    SitePoint Guru
    Join Date
    Dec 2008
    Posts
    692
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    hi all

    thanks for the assistance giiven
    i found out the error and though it displayed { error it was something else
    all the brackets were intact.
    by mistake a additional word got added to the control and was getting all such errors

    it got solved


Tags for this Thread

Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •