SitePoint Sponsor

User Tag List

Results 1 to 14 of 14

Thread: sidebar...

  1. #1
    SitePoint Enthusiast joker-san's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2008
    Location
    Cyprus
    Posts
    32
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

    sidebar...

    i have got the problem with the sidebar ...
    i have no idea how to arrange it..
    now,it is on my site..

    contact us
    about us
    home
    interest

    i want to rearrange the order. i did try the page order...
    it works on the back-end..but it doesn't appear on front ends..

    any suggestion..?

  2. #2
    In memoriam gold trophysilver trophybronze trophy Dan Schulz's Avatar
    Join Date
    May 2006
    Location
    Aurora, Illinois
    Posts
    15,476
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    What's the Web site look like? Are you looking to reorganize the layout, or just the content within the sidebar?

  3. #3
    SitePoint Enthusiast joker-san's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2008
    Location
    Cyprus
    Posts
    32
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    i just want to rearrange the sidebar to be formal..like

    home
    about
    interest
    contact

    thank you

  4. #4
    In memoriam gold trophysilver trophybronze trophy Dan Schulz's Avatar
    Join Date
    May 2006
    Location
    Aurora, Illinois
    Posts
    15,476
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Okay, what CMS are you using?

  5. #5
    SitePoint Enthusiast joker-san's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2008
    Location
    Cyprus
    Posts
    32
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    I am using wordpress

    thanks

  6. #6
    In memoriam gold trophysilver trophybronze trophy Dan Schulz's Avatar
    Join Date
    May 2006
    Location
    Aurora, Illinois
    Posts
    15,476
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Ah. You have a few options then. Are you using the WordPress Pages feature, or are these Posts in the sidebar? Is the PHP code that generates the sidebar menu in the sidebar.php file (if present)?

    If they're generated dynamically you can go to "Manage" > "Pages" > (the page you want to rearrange) and select your own custom page order (look for the option towards the end called "Page Order").

  7. #7
    SitePoint Enthusiast joker-san's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2008
    Location
    Cyprus
    Posts
    32
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    i did try it with the Page Order

    - 1 to "Home"
    - 2 to "About us "
    - 3 to "Interest"
    - 4 to "Contact us"

    but..it works in the wordpress adim. but it doesn't change anything on front end..

  8. #8
    SitePoint Enthusiast joker-san's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2008
    Location
    Cyprus
    Posts
    32
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    any suggestion?

  9. #9
    In memoriam gold trophysilver trophybronze trophy Dan Schulz's Avatar
    Join Date
    May 2006
    Location
    Aurora, Illinois
    Posts
    15,476
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Copy your sidebar.php file here then.

  10. #10
    SitePoint Enthusiast joker-san's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2008
    Location
    Cyprus
    Posts
    32
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    here is my code..
    PHP Code:
    <div id="left-box">
        <div id="sidebar">
            <?php if ( !function_exists('dynamic_sidebar') || !dynamic_sidebar() ) : ?>
                    <div class="categories box">
                        <h3><?php _e('Category:'); ?></h3>
                        <ul>
                            <?php wp_list_cats('sort_column=name&hierarchical=1'); ?>
                        </ul>
                    </div>
                    
                    <div class="archive box">
                        <h3><?php _e('Archives:'); ?></h3>
                        <ul>
                            <?php wp_get_archives('type=monthly'); ?>
                        </ul>
                    </div>
                    <div class="blogroll box">
                        <h3><?php _e('Blogroll:'); ?></h3>
                        <ul>
                            <?php get_links(-1'<li>''</li>'''FALSE'name'FALSEFALSE, -1FALSE); ?>
                        </ul>
                    </div>
                    <div class="meta box">
                        <h3><?php _e('Meta:'); ?></h3>
                        <ul>
                            <li><a href="<?php bloginfo('rss2_url'); ?>" title="<?php _e('Syndicate this site using RSS'); ?>"><?php _e('<abbr title="Really Simple Syndication">RSS</abbr>'); ?></a></li>
                            <li><a href="<?php bloginfo('comments_rss2_url'); ?>" title="<?php _e('The latest comments to all posts in RSS'); ?>"><?php _e('Comments <abbr title="Really Simple Syndication">RSS</abbr>'); ?></a></li>
                            <li><a href="http://validator.w3.org/check/referer" title="<?php _e('This page validates as XHTML 1.0 Transitional'); ?>"><?php _e('Valid <abbr title="eXtensible HyperText Markup Language">XHTML</abbr>'); ?></a></li>
                            <li><a href="http://gmpg.org/xfn/"><abbr title="XHTML Friends Network">XFN</abbr></a></li>
                            <?php wp_meta(); ?>
                        </ul>
                    </div>
            <?php endif; ?>
        </div>
    </div>
    Thank you for your time.
    Last edited by Dan Schulz; Dec 27, 2008 at 04:20. Reason: added PHP code tags

  11. #11
    In memoriam gold trophysilver trophybronze trophy Dan Schulz's Avatar
    Join Date
    May 2006
    Location
    Aurora, Illinois
    Posts
    15,476
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Odd. I thought you were talking about wp_list_pages(); here not something else. Okay, is your Theme widgetized and are the widgets being used (if so then that sidebar won't be getting used)? Are the links stored in the category lists or blogroll instead?

  12. #12
    SitePoint Enthusiast joker-san's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2008
    Location
    Cyprus
    Posts
    32
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    where can i find wp_list_pages();?
    is it in CMS or ftp..
    i think wp_list_page(); is more easy to arrange the list.
    Actually, i put all the menu in the Category...
    Thank you for your time..

  13. #13
    In memoriam gold trophysilver trophybronze trophy Dan Schulz's Avatar
    Join Date
    May 2006
    Location
    Aurora, Illinois
    Posts
    15,476
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    It'll be in your WordPress Theme - if it's being used at all.

  14. #14
    SitePoint Enthusiast joker-san's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2008
    Location
    Cyprus
    Posts
    32
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    now it works ...
    what you told me is true..
    i am very new to wordpress..
    thank you very much for your time..


Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •