SitePoint Sponsor

User Tag List

Results 1 to 6 of 6
  1. #1
    SitePoint Enthusiast
    Join Date
    Jul 2003
    Location
    New York
    Posts
    26
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

    Works in IE, but not in Firefox

    Hi,

    I have an effect on one of my sites I'd like to use, but it will only work in IE. It doesn't work in Firefox, and it doesn't work on AOL

    Here's the page: www.koc3488.com/3488WallOfWorthies.htm

    Is there some kind of code issue that can be resolved?

    Thanks!

  2. #2
    SitePoint Guru
    Join Date
    Sep 2006
    Posts
    731
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Quote Originally Posted by Mike Dragonetti View Post
    Hi,

    I have an effect on one of my sites I'd like to use, but it will only work in IE. It doesn't work in Firefox, and it doesn't work on AOL

    Here's the page: www.koc3488.com/3488WallOfWorthies.htm

    Is there some kind of code issue that can be resolved?
    That's a Microsoft effect and whoever distributed the code should have made that clear.
    No.
    Tab-indentation is a crime against humanity.

  3. #3
    Programming Team silver trophybronze trophy
    Mittineague's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2005
    Location
    West Springfield, Massachusetts
    Posts
    17,290
    Mentioned
    198 Post(s)
    Tagged
    3 Thread(s)
    The javascript uses IE only transitions http://msdn.microsoft.com/en-us/libr...47(VS.85).aspx
    HTML Code:
    n="progid:DXImageTransform.Microsoft.";
    f=new Array()
    f[0]="Wheel(spokes=4)";
    f[1]="Blinds(Bands=10,direction=up)";
    f[2]="Stretch(stretchstyle=PUSH)";
    f[3]="Stretch(stretchstyle=SPIN)";
    f[4]="RadialWipe(wipestyle=RADIAL)";
    f[5]="RadialWipe(wipestyle=WEDGE)";
    f[6]="Checkerboard(Direction=right,SquaresX=8,SquaresY=8)";
    f[7]="Fade(Overlap=1.00)";
    f[8]="GradientWipe(GradientSize=0.25,wipestyle=0,motion=forward)";
    f[9]="Iris(irisstyle=CIRCLE,motion=out)";
    f[10]="Iris(irisstyle=STAR,motion=out)";
    f[11]="Barn( motion=out,orientation=vertical)";
    f[12]="Barn( motion=in,orientation=vertical)";
    f[13]="Strips(motion=leftup)";
    f[14]="Slide(slidestyle=HIDE,Bands=1)";
    f[15]="Slide(slidestyle=PUSH,Bands=1)";
    f[16]="Slide(slidestyle=SWAP,Bands=1)";
    f[17]="RandomDissolve(duration=1)";
    You could try finding another javascript effects library (or maybe a Java applet) to do something similar if not identical. http://www.google.com/search?rls=en&...ge+transitions The code weight would be heavier because it wouldn't use "built in" browser capabilities, but it would work cross-browser.

  4. #4
    SitePoint Enthusiast
    Join Date
    Jul 2003
    Location
    New York
    Posts
    26
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Quote Originally Posted by Logic Ali View Post
    That's a Microsoft effect and whoever distributed the code should have made that clear.
    No.
    Thanks for replying, Ali,

    I got that code back in 2002, when Netscape, not Firefox, was IE's chief competitor.
    I think I got the code from boogiejack (which has very good, easy to understand tutorials)

  5. #5
    SitePoint Enthusiast
    Join Date
    Jul 2003
    Location
    New York
    Posts
    26
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Quote Originally Posted by Mittineague View Post
    The javascript uses IE only transitions http://msdn.microsoft.com/en-us/libr...47(VS.85).aspx
    HTML Code:
    n="progid:DXImageTransform.Microsoft.";
    f=new Array()
    f[0]="Wheel(spokes=4)";
    f[1]="Blinds(Bands=10,direction=up)";
    f[2]="Stretch(stretchstyle=PUSH)";
    f[3]="Stretch(stretchstyle=SPIN)";
    f[4]="RadialWipe(wipestyle=RADIAL)";
    f[5]="RadialWipe(wipestyle=WEDGE)";
    f[6]="Checkerboard(Direction=right,SquaresX=8,SquaresY=8)";
    f[7]="Fade(Overlap=1.00)";
    f[8]="GradientWipe(GradientSize=0.25,wipestyle=0,motion=forward)";
    f[9]="Iris(irisstyle=CIRCLE,motion=out)";
    f[10]="Iris(irisstyle=STAR,motion=out)";
    f[11]="Barn( motion=out,orientation=vertical)";
    f[12]="Barn( motion=in,orientation=vertical)";
    f[13]="Strips(motion=leftup)";
    f[14]="Slide(slidestyle=HIDE,Bands=1)";
    f[15]="Slide(slidestyle=PUSH,Bands=1)";
    f[16]="Slide(slidestyle=SWAP,Bands=1)";
    f[17]="RandomDissolve(duration=1)";
    You could try finding another javascript effects library (or maybe a Java applet) to do something similar if not identical. http://www.google.com/search?rls=en&...ge+transitions The code weight would be heavier because it wouldn't use "built in" browser capabilities, but it would work cross-browser.
    Thanks, Mitteneague,

    I'm going to take you up on that one. I didn't think the transition part was the problem, just JavaScript in general, which I'm finding out doesn't exactly play well with the likes of Firefox.

  6. #6
    Programming Since 1978 silver trophybronze trophy felgall's Avatar
    Join Date
    Sep 2005
    Location
    Sydney, NSW, Australia
    Posts
    16,875
    Mentioned
    25 Post(s)
    Tagged
    1 Thread(s)
    It is Internet Explorer that JavaScript has problems with since IE doesn't support JavaScript at all. Instead IE supports JScript which is a similar language. With a few if statements using feature sensing you can get JavaScript to run as JScript as well so that scripts will work on browsers that support JavaScript and also on IE. JScript contains lots of commands without JavaScript equivalents though so you cannot always take JScript and get it to run as JavaScript since about 80% of the JScript commands have no JavaScript equivalent.
    Stephen J Chapman

    javascriptexample.net, Book Reviews, follow me on Twitter
    HTML Help, CSS Help, JavaScript Help, PHP/mySQL Help, blog
    <input name="html5" type="text" required pattern="^$">


Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •