SitePoint Sponsor

User Tag List

Results 1 to 9 of 9
  1. #1
    SitePoint Member
    Join Date
    Dec 2008
    Posts
    11
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

    Website Updating

    Hello there
    A newbie question to experts-
    I just recently updated content on a website for a friend of mine using coffeecup. But somehow the changes I have done do not show up on computers on which previously the site had been accessed including my own on which the changes are being made.
    Does this have something to do wiith the hosting server or an issue with my updates? If it is an issue with the website being cached on the local computer, is there any way to have this fixed from the server side?
    Thanks

  2. #2
    SitePoint Wizard
    Join Date
    Jul 2003
    Location
    Kent
    Posts
    1,921
    Mentioned
    1 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    hit the refresh button a few times, you are viewing the browser's cached copy.

  3. #3
    SitePoint Member
    Join Date
    Dec 2008
    Posts
    11
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    hi john
    Yes i have tried that like 100 times, then restart, nothing seems to be working. But even if the refresh or cache clearing worked, the issue still would be ther for any other person from other parts of the world who has previously accessed this site wont see the changes. And would not be a practical thing if each person has to do the same.

  4. #4
    #titanic {float:none} silver trophy
    molona's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2005
    Location
    from Madrid to Heaven
    Posts
    8,237
    Mentioned
    239 Post(s)
    Tagged
    1 Thread(s)
    The cache clears itself after an amount of time or until it reaches certain amount of information. There's nothing that you can do about someone else's cache. Just place a expiry meta tag so in the future the browser will go to the site instead of using the cached copy. But use it wisely, because, after all, the browser caches pages to show the quicker, and that's also to your advantage

  5. #5
    Non-Member
    Join Date
    Sep 2008
    Location
    Jaipur, India
    Posts
    55
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    You can check your changes in any other browser

  6. #6
    SitePoint Member
    Join Date
    Dec 2008
    Posts
    11
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Thanks molona
    nighthawks - yes i did try the changes in firefox but still the same.

  7. #7
    SitePoint Member
    Join Date
    Jan 2009
    Location
    Scotland
    Posts
    11
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Quote Originally Posted by kns View Post
    Thanks molona
    nighthawks - yes i did try the changes in firefox but still the same.
    try

    ipconfig /flushdns

    in the run command - press start then run
    Last edited by barry-M; Jan 29, 2009 at 03:38. Reason: forgot a bit
    Small business UK Website Designers UK - Website Packages

  8. #8
    SitePoint Addict
    Join Date
    Jan 2008
    Posts
    326
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    You should be able to set your files to expire immediately so they are not cached. This is something you would need to ask your host about. I would caution you though that this probably isn't the best solution if you won't be updating the site often.

  9. #9
    SitePoint Member JonathanKF's Avatar
    Join Date
    Nov 2008
    Posts
    17
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Quote Originally Posted by molona View Post
    The cache clears itself after an amount of time or until it reaches certain amount of information. There's nothing that you can do about someone else's cache. Just place a expiry meta tag so in the future the browser will go to the site instead of using the cached copy. But use it wisely, because, after all, the browser caches pages to show the quicker, and that's also to your advantage
    If you want to force all visitors of the site to get the latest version of the site, the only way this can be achived is by renaming files - i.e. adding a date stamp or version number the file names:

    javascript.js -> javascript.v.1.0.1.js
    or
    facepalm.jpg -> facepalm-26-02-1990.jpg

    If your server is running Apache, you can control your cache times via the .htaccess file


Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •