SitePoint Sponsor

User Tag List

SitePoint Addict
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

how to prevent two users from logging in with same id and password?

How can I prevent two users from logging in with same id and password....
    [COLOR=SlateGray]
    Web Developer @ VeriQual

I solve practical problems. bronze trophy
    Mentioned
    65 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Check their IP in $_SERVER['REMOTE_ADDR'] (If I recall correctly)

Twitter: @AnthonySterling silver trophy AnthonySterling's Avatar
    Mentioned
    3 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    You could place a flag in the system to indicate whether or not the user is active, then just deny any new attempts to login with an active account.

The hard work is going to be how you distinguish active / inactive logins.
    @AnthonySterling: I'm a PHP developer, a consultant for oopnorth.com and the organiser of @phpne, a PHP User Group covering the North-East of England.

SitePoint Addict
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Quote Originally Posted by Michael Morris View Post
    Check their IP in $_SERVER['REMOTE_ADDR'] (If I recall correctly)
    wot if they are form different machines and but using same id and password.
    This is wot I want to prevent..
    [COLOR=SlateGray]
    Web Developer @ VeriQual

SitePoint Addict
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Quote Originally Posted by SilverBulletUK View Post
    You could place a flag in the system to indicate whether or not the user is active, then just deny any new attempts to login with an active account.

The hard work is going to be how you distinguish active / inactive logins.
    Sounds good!

Now look at the scenerio,

on the login of 2nd user I will check the inactivity of 1st user, if inactive, will allow the 2nd user to enter, but how can I destroy the session of first one?
    The reason is, I don't want to allow two users with same id and password work same time.