User Tag List

I solve practical problems. bronze trophy
    Mentioned
    56 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

Dear Santa, I want a browser for Christmas

Dear Santa.

I am a web developer. The bane of my existence are programs called web browsers. You might have heard of a few - Internet Explorer is probably the one that's gotten me the closest to landing on the naughty list for untoward language in the workplace. I have to test the browsers that people use to see the net as long as they are common enough for the clients that pay my bills to care (this thankfully means I stopped testing Netscape 4 ages ago).

You may be bewildered as to why I'd want another browser to test on. Let me explain. I have noticed that if I write my code precisely and to specifications I can be fairly certain it will work on all browsers not manufactured by Microsoft, and that it will even work on the Microsoft browsers much of the time if I follow certain guidelines, like avoiding css float calls when possible.

However, all browsers want to be a hero. They want my page to look nice no matter how deplorable my coding habits are. They will try to smooth over outright errors and mistakes on my part and here lies my problem. The mistakes that one browser tolerates may cause another fits. There are validation programs out there sure, and they work fairly well, but often I find myself using them after the error has been in the page for some time, and working it back out can be a problem.

So what I want is a browser that doesn't want to be a hero. I even have a name for it. I would like it to be called Canary. As in, miner's Canary. I'm not too particular about the engine it rests on - be it Webkit or Gecko - as long as the engine is standards compliant. However, unlike standard browsers which will ignore errors, Canary will die when it hits errors, and chirp warnings about deprecated calls.