User Tag List

SitePoint Member
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

user database, login, etc.

Hi,

I'm not sure whether this is the correct forum to post this thread on, so I apologize in advance if it is inappropriate.

How does one go about implementing a user database for a website, with secure login, etc, and a user database containing relevant information (probably just name and email address for now -- perhaps this should be discussed more later).

I expect the answer to be some combination of Java/Ajax/SQL or something, but I don't really know where to start my research in this area.

I am an experienced programmer and willing to get my hands dirty, so don't hold back

I appreciate any advice you can offer.

Thanks,
    - Dave H.

SitePoint Wizard silver trophy rushiku's Avatar
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    1 Thread(s)
    Database layer: The importance of database choice is debatable, but you'll obviously need one. Oracle, MySQL and postgres are all good choices. Regardless of your choice, the database will understand standard SQL.

Application/Business layer: Java Servlets are a good place to start. For more complicated apps (and once you understand how servlets work) there are various frameworks available, such as Struts.

Presentation layer: a mixture of HTML and CSS, and possibly Javascript and AJAX, built on top of JSPs.

Hardware layer: a least one machine to host your database and a Servlet Container (Java Server), such as Tomcat.

hth

SitePoint Member
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    If you're using JSP/Java/Servlets/Tomcat then the basic components are:

1. Create your site pages as JSPs. One (or more) of these will have a login form. You can make this secure via SSL or opt for something more basic (e.g. use javascript to create a MD5 digest of the password). Either way, don't submit their credentials as plain text.