SitePoint Sponsor

User Tag List

Mentioned
    3 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

Question ASP .NET and Dreamweaver

Hello,

Assuming this is the right section to ask this question (if not then mods plz move it to the appropriate one).

I was wondering how easy or hard will it be to create a web application in ASP.net under dreamweaver CS 4 instead of doing it under Microsoft ASP.NET IDE?

I am new to ASP.NET to plz help me.

Thanx

SitePoint Wizard
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    ASP.NET files - the markup files and the codebehind source code files - are all just text files. You can use any editor. DW makes it easy to upload and test on servers. You certainly can use DW for ASP.NET.

That said, DW offers nealy no guidance (intellisense, help, toolboxes, snippets, highlighting etc) for ASP.NET and C#. Visual Studio 2008 Web Developer offers plenty of integrated guidance and does not have anything to be ashamed of in the CSS and JavaScript depertment (IMO it is still better than DW CS4).

Also consider that if you are noob you will need to rely on advice and experiences of other developers. They will almost exclusively use VWD.

Mentioned
    3 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Hi,

Thanx for the reply. Do you think ASP.net has more flexibility then the classic ASP 3.0?

SitePoint Mentor NightStalker-DNS's Avatar
    Mentioned
    46 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    You can use dreamweaver, but i would also suggest VS WD. Its free and very powerful. As i prefer using .cs pages(code behind) so that all the code is not in the aspx page, which is not supported by dreamwaver.

And as for asp.net being more flexible than classic asp... Without a doubt. It is a lot better and a lot more powerful

Mentioned
    3 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    How is Microsoft Visual Studio .NET different from Microsoft Visual Studio Express Edition?

Thanx

SitePoint Wizard
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)